Photos from my trip to Myanmar (Part 1)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I spend almost 6 days exploring Myanmar (Burma) in June, 2017, and I had an incredible experience. In this post, I want to show some photos I took from my trip.

YANGON!
Yangon is the former capital and largest city in Myanmar, with a population of about 6 million people. My first impressions of Yangon were chaotic, dirty, and impoverished. The most famous one being the Shwedagon Pagoda. If you search for Myanmar on Google Images, then this is the shiny gold pagoda that you’ll see. And holy crap, it’s amazing!
Walking around the pagoda felt like I was on a different planet
IIMG0108-1.jpg

IIMG0112-1.jpg

BAGAN!
The city of Bagan is one of the coolest and most historic places that I’ve ever been. It’s located about 700 kilometers north of Yangon, in the central part of the country. You cannot visit Myanmar without a stop in Bagan!
They were built between the 11th – 13th Centuries and they are absolutely stunning to see. What you should definitely do in Bagan is rent an electric motorbike for $5USD (or 5,000 Kyats) per day to go exploring around the temples on your own time. It’s incredibly peaceful and unforgettable to be surrounded by hundreds of temples with no one in sight. In my opinion, the temples of Bagan are much more tranquil than those of Angkor Wat, because you have the freedom to explore on your own without running into anyone.
IIMG0195-1.jpg

IIMG0343-1.jpg

IIMG0335-1.jpg

IIMG0401-1.jpg

Sort:  

Great view and photo.
I want to go Myanmar and get their culture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60