Calabar: A list of tourist Attraction.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

ALLMYVIE
Places to hangout in Calabar

Places to hangout in Calabar. The other day on my Facebook timeline, I saw a post. It read ” there’s nothing left in this calabar, this town is dead and gone”.

Although I just got back from Calabar about one month ago, what he said isn’t far from the truth. Most locals I discussed with while I was there said the same. Some people have relocated and others remaining are probably planning to in the long run.

Tinapa games Arcade

This kind of opinion about a city by its locals hinder touristic activities in that area. To curb this thought amongst inhabitants, I immediately got to exploring and documenting. Join me explore my list of places to hangout in Calabar based on your interests ;

Nature:

calabar, as we know, is one of the beautiful nature hubs in Nigeria. They include, (click on the highlighted texts for their details and locations)

– Kwa falls, Akamkpa
– Tinapa business and leisure resort.
– Marina resort.
– Drill ranch.

Drill ranch, cross River state

Bars and grills:
Calabar people love partying and enjoying life. I mean, they are the owners of Carnival in Africa. Some happening bars and grills in town are:

– Wine bar, etagbor roundabout.
– Tata fish, atekong junction.
– Airforce officers mess, MCC off Mobil.
– Zanzibar, (parliamentary).
– Palladium hotel bar and sit-out spot, (maryslessor roundabout).
– Calabar municipality field (Marian opposite the market).

Ps: I haven’t forgotten the signatory teaching hospital boli and fish joint and the almighty suya Arcade street at Mary slessor road. I’ve had the best times of my food life in these places.

Art

Bakeries and pastries:
The finest and moderate pastries places in Calabar are;
– Happy food bakeries,
– Hi-quality bakeries (my favs! Their chocolate cake makes my week!)
– Jason’s Pizza Hut, (Marian road).
– Spar pastries section.

Ice cream!
As an ice cream lover, I had to sooth my cravings frequently. I explored;

– Creamie land (calabar mall).
– Happy food bakeries (Calabar mall).
– Ice cream place (Marian opposite naf club)
– Spar ice cream section.

Creamie land, calabar

Clubs:
Your visit to calabar isn’t totally complete if you’ve not unwound in a club. Clubs I’m conversant with are:

– Jasper 101 (Marian road).
– White House lounge (Near fiesta fries, Marian).

Food houses and restaurants:
All humans must eat. All humans must eat good food when they get to Calabar. Home made food. I’m quite conversant with some of their local delicacies. Places they can be found are:

– Native delicacies (Highway)
– E3 restaurant, (cultural center).
– Happy food Chinese restaurant, (Marian road).
– Any fast-food or hotel found.

Orange resort, calabar

Gym and Fitness:
A sports lover Like I am cannot leave without exploring most fitness options in a city. Fitness must be achieved each morning for a perfect day. Some gyms and fitness centers are:
– The stadium
– Monty suites fitness center (off highway)
– Army barracks (Marian towards jamb office)
– Navy barracks (stadium)
– Herty Plaza (gym Shop)
– Calabar Sports Club (highway by Rccg)

Arts and historical places:
A place is incomplete without the historical details. Calabar is a great historical place in Nigerian history. A major slave trade Route, there are remains of these times. They can be found at:
– The slave history museum (marina resort)
– The National museum (Near governor’s lodge behind stadium)
– Mary Slessor’s home (Twin island)
– The land of no return.
– The slave market (Akpabuyo).

IMG-20180103-WA0019.jpg

Slave trade museum, marina resort

Other places includes
– Filmhouse cinemas (Marina resort)
– Calabar harbour resort and spa (Asari Eso, off mcc road)
– Airport field (for picnics)
– Orange resort (Relaxation)
– National museum joint. (Hidden gem, located at the national museum)
– De-choice car park ( cultural center)
– Calabar municipality field (Marian).

Hidden Gems
Some places aren’t so popular but those who know the area know where to go. They include
– The National museum joint
– Teaching hospital boli and fish joint.
– Airforce officers mess.
– Nigerian Navy officers mess.
– Botanical garden
– 404 joint at atimbo.

A quick highlight of my food experience is the 404 joint at atimbo… please, Calabar people that understand what 404 means, help an ignorant me. I almost ate that thing by setup.

Where else did I leave out? Where can one hangout in Calabar?

Are you planning on visiting Calabar soon? Please place your comments below.IMG-20180226-WA0004.jpgIMG-20180117-WA0005.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35