A unique Nigerian delicacy: Afang SoupsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

Hello there, welcome to the food segment of the blog. Today’s article is focused on Afang soup. Its Details, origin and recipe. Let’s get our virtual taste buds ready!

Simeone, my course mate asked me a question somedays ago in class. He said "why do you love calabar so much"?
And I'm like "it's a loveable town plus I grew up there too".

I claim to be a Calabar girl, I am not from Calabar. One out of the “75 major reasons” why I love calabar is the food. The best local delicacies I’ve tasted in Nigeria, With the Afang soup heading that list! Main reason why this food section begins with this delicacy!

History of afang soup:
According to Wikipedia, Afang Soup is a vegetable soup that originates from the Ibibio People of Akwa Ibom in South South Nigeria. It is a dish popularly known by Nigerians and also some parts of Africa. It is especially popular among the Ibibio, the Anang and the Ndoki people of Akwa Ibom and Cross Rivers state whom have adopted this cuisine as part of their cultural identity. This dish is served at homes and also sometimes at ceremonies such as weddings, burials, festivals etc mostly in the southern part of Nigeria. Afang soup is very nutritious and cost of preparation can be adaptable based on family needs.
images-1.jpeg

Afang soup Ingredients:
Ingredients used to prepare Afang soup includes beef, fish, palm oil, crayfish, pepper, Shaki (beef stripe), waterleaf, onion, periwinkle, kpomo (canda), salt, sliced and we’ll grounded afang leaves, stockfish and some other ingredients.

I learnt to cook the soup from my Mother. Although I hate cooking, I cook pretty well.

What Afang soup is eaten with:
Locally, it is compatible with the main starchy foods. Starchy foods Like Garri (locally called Eba), Santana (locally called Fufu), Wheat, semovita, starch and probably pounded yam. I haven’t tried it out with pounded yam or starch though.

Why you should Love afang soup.

I cannot begin to elaborate the many reasons why you should Love afang soup. Some reasons are,

Very delicious
Affordable to cook.
Easy to whip.
Nutritional health benefits.
Satisfying feeling.
The feeling of afang soup achievement.
Health benefits includes, but are not limited to,

Replenished body nutrients.
Easy to digest.
Satisfying.
Aids Body growth and development just because it is afang soup and because I can’t start telling you the health benefits of each of its ingredients.

Where can Afang soup be gotten:
This soup can be gotten on demand. From major restaurants to fast foods and even in an indigenous calabar woman’s kitchen. If needed right away, message me and I’ll hook you up (subject to location)!

PS: If you can afford me, I could whip it up quickly for you!

Would you love to eat afang soup?
What other native soup would you love to taste?
I could probably go learn to make it. Just let me know in the comments section.

Sort:  

Congratulations @trvl, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50