Finally! Day #1 of my backpacking trip through Sweden!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hej everybody!

This is the first post about my 10 days spent in Sweden. For seven days, two friends and I (let's call them Ella and Oscar) walked the Kullaleden, a section of the Skåneleden #hiking trail from Helsingborg to Utvälinge. After that we were in Göteborg and Stockholm.


Source

I will give you some insight on how it was by describing each day, based on my diary entries, and adding some pictures! The photos that do not have a source underneath are taken by me. I hope you enjoy and I will start right away with...

Day #1

After lots of planning and packing yesterday and some trouble falling asleep (I started thinking about whether monkeys sleep on their back, stomach or side- please let me know if you have an idea which one it is.. I guess probably the stomach? :D) I got up at 4 am and did yoga for 15 minutes. That's kind of a crazy way to start a trip like that, but I wanted to enjoy one last moment to myself, and who knew if there would be time or motivation for yoga out there?

Then I packed some more food in my backpack and walked to meet Oscar and Ella. It was raining and dark out, but the first thing I did was hold Ella's sunscreen (which I was going to put in my backpack) up to protect myself from the buuuurrrning sun. You can see, a trip with weird people like us is going to be fun.

We took some regional trains and then got into an ICE to Hamburg. It had 40 minutes delay, so we missed the train to Fredericia. The next one would come three hours later, so we walked around Hamburg with our backpacks because of course there were no free lockers.

Then we got into a train that you needed reservations for .

Dear passengers, please be aware that to stay on this train you NEED reservations bla bla

was what we heard over the speakers at least five times, and I am not kidding. Ok they didn't say bla bla, but you know what I mean.

We stayed on our three foldout seats right in front of the restroom and hoped noone would notice us.. They did. But we didn't get in trouble, yay!

To our surprise, the train went on a ferry after three hours so that we left the train and stood on the sundeck. It was really beautiful.

Then we took another train and a bus through Copenhagen and walked onto a ferry from Helsingoer to Helsingborg.

After arrival we went into a supermarket to buy water (and TUC crackers with sourcream and onion taste!). The only problem was.. it was sprakling water. Which meant that our waterbottles kept popping up and the plastic one I had outside my backpack with a snap hook leaked all over my arm. Note: It stayed that way for the rest of the trip..

Another problem was that we had no idea where to go. There were no signs leading us to the trail. We decided to walk along the coast in hopes of at least being in the right direction. The sun set, which was beautiful but also stressed us out.

Finally around 11pm we found a place to sleep, basically a picnic site. We set up our tent and cooked our first meal (meaning Oscar had to boil water for our cup noodles because we were too lazy to "cook"). Then it started to rain. We packed up everything and went into our tent.

Everybody was in a terrible mood.. Ella even said she would look for trains going back home tomorrow. But I was happy and excited and thought seriously guys? We haven't even started yet!

Sort:  

@tripswithtam Sweden is a place on my bucket list, well actually the whole of Europe, tbh. Nice photos. Thx for writing this.

Yeah you should definitely come and see for yourself :) Part two is coming this weekend so stay posted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87