Quaint church and pub in Alaska

in #travellast year

While taking in the scenery of Alaska it is really kind of refreshing to me to look around and see mostly nothing. By that I don't mean that there is nothing interesting to see, Alaska is one of the most amazing places I have ever been in my life, but the absence of crowds almost anywhere is truly wonderful to me. I never thought that I could, to quote Depeche Mode, "Enjoy the Silence" so much but I really do. It is cold here, even in summer, but I think I might even be willing to have a go at braving the bitter winters here in order to live such a peaceful life.

I think that I am going to try to make a plan to try to come up here one winter just to see exactly how awful it can be because when I think about my own life and how I live in areas of the world that are generally filled with loads of people everywhere, I kind of enjoy the idea of being around almost no one, even if that meant staying indoors most of the time.

I think the only downside would be that it is probably pretty difficult to stay in shape in Alaska seeing as how for 6 months of the year going outside for more than half and hour or so could result in freezing to death.

So here are some images of just normal stuff that you would see anywhere but just imagine that you are seeing them with nothing but the sounds of the breeze. Honestly, it is so quiet here that I just absolutely love it.


image.png

I am not a religious person but I respect other people's religions if they can manage to do them in a peaceful way. This church is a really small one and I have no idea about their patronage but I would imagine that it is pretty small seeing as how almost no one lives here.


image.png

That building doesn't look terribly well-insulated so I would imagine that the congregation turns up for Sunday service in full outdoor gear and keeps it on for the full hour. The parking lot wasn't far away so I can imagine that it would be filled with cars that can be started with a remote so that your hands don't freeze to the steering wheel once you get in it.


image.png
It wasn't vandalized, I marked out the name because I do not know this person

I was kind of amazed at the amount of plants at this church but that could just be because of my ignorance about the flora of Alaska. I would have presumed that almost all plant life would be dead because of the crazy low temperatures that exist here for most of the year.

Later one we made our way to the Salty Dawg Pub, which was filled with activity if you can imagine this sleepy city has a place that people gather. This was just like any other pub in the world but the entire ceiling was decorated with dollar bills that NOBODY steals.


image.png

You can tell by the way that people are dressed that even though it is July, it is still quite cold here, especially at night. I have no seen a single swimming pool since we have been here and I presume that is because they would freeze solid every year and destroy the base of it.


image.png

After being up here for just a week I think that I am going to try to make a plan to find a place to live up here for a full year. Of course I could end up regretting that and bailing out because it would end up being considerably more expensive than anywhere else I have chosen to live in the past decade but honestly, once you have experienced peace and quiet the likes of which I have noticed since I got here, there is something very addictive about it.

Alaska is a truly amazing place and if you have the opportunity, especially in an RV, you should really try to make it up here. Other than the high price of everything which is understandable seeing as how it is so far away from anywhere, the place is pretty damn awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55