Chile joins the list of zero Covid requirements for entry

in #travel2 years ago

It's great to see this trend continues and this time it is in a country that can be traveled to on the cheap. It has been many years since I last traveled to Chile and while getting around can prove a bit cumbersome, it is one of the most naturally beautiful countries I have been to in South America.


image.png
src
I just realized that the Chile flag is almost identical to the flag of Texas

Starting back on April 14th, Chile dropped all requirements to enter the country. You do not need to quarantine, you do not need to provide proof of vaccination, you do not need to take a PCR test or any other test. If you can get a visa, you can go to Chile...period.

That being said, there are still local mandates in place such as silly mask rules on public transport or busy areas, but according to one of my friends that was trapped there during the global lockdown, this was rarely enforced outside of really busy areas like Santiago. Even there, it was only in very busy areas and normally didn't carry any sort of penalty other than a harsh-talkin'-to if you didn't comply.

I'm not suggesting that people go out of their way to not wear masks. I have a simple rule when traveling and it is just the "when in Rome" mantra. If the locals are wearing masks somewhere, I do the same. I don't want to cause any problems even though I don't now, nor have I ever believed that most of the masks that people wear do anything at all.


image.png
src

Chile is likely most well-known for its stunning scenery and incredible mountains which cover almost all of the nation. You don't have to move very far to find some sort of amazing countryside and if you do go there, I highly suggest that you take advantage of spring or autumn, because it can get bitterly cold there during certain times of year.

Of course everyone else goes during these times as well but seeing as how global tourism is at the lowest point it has been in my lifetime, now might be the perfect time to avoid the crowds. There are basically no restrictions or mask requirements once you get out of the cities, so if those sorts of things are as annoying to you as they are to me, I recommend getting out of the cities as soon as possible.

One thing that is really great about Chile is that almost all of the National Parks are free to enter, even for foreigners. For the more adventurous traveler, it is often also free to camp there if you don't mind carrying a tent with you.

The more desirable camping locations that have running water, showers, toilets, and even Wi-Fi tend to cost a few dollars a night and you can even rent tents there but I was a little afraid of the sleeping bags that you could rent since I would be surprised if they ever wash them.


image.png
src

one of the major attractions of Chile for budget-travelers is the trekking and hiking opportunities that are just about everywhere. It is not advised that you attempt to do this without a guide. I hired a guide with a group and it was well worth the $10 a day or so that it cost to have this expert with us. If you are one of those folks that is fearless and likes the unknown than go for it on your own if you want. If you don't stray too far from the trails I would say that getting lost is almost impossible. You may end up missing a lot of the hidden secrets though.

Chile is cheap but dorm beds were around $8 a night when I was there and according to my friend who was there 2 years ago, this had jumped to an average of 12-15 dollars a night. Not exactly the cheapest place in the world but honestly, if you can't afford $15 a night for a room, you might be better of staying home.

The main point of this was to say that I am excited each and every time a country throws in the towel and stops this rather senseless war against a virus that I think was over-hyped for political reasons right from the start. Of course the US State department strongly advises that you do not go to Chile for many reasons including Covid, but then again, they say that about almost every country in the world. If you listened to the State Department, you would find yourself in Florida every year - which in my mind is far more dangerous than most of the places the US government advises you to not travel to because it "isn't safe."

Congratulations Chile for having some sensibility. Let's hope the rest of South America follows suit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86