Exploring the Beautiful Beaches of South Carolina Through Photography

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

The U.S. Navy has sent me on a two-week training trip, and during my off time, I got to explore the beautiful beaches of South Carolina.

I spent last summer in San Diego with the Navy on the west coast. Now, I am getting a taste of the beautiful east coast.

Even though I'm here with the Navy, I made sure to bring Steemit along to the white sands with me.

This particular beach shown in these photographs is Folly Beach in SC. It's the first time I've been to this particular beach on the East Coast, and I absolutely loved it.

My passion lies in photography, so while I enjoyed the beach, I enjoyed getting to photograph its beauty much more.

Today was perfect day out on the beach, although it could have been a little cooler. But really, can I even complain?

I love piers and their seemingly endless rows of columns and beams. I particularly enjoyed getting underneath and photographing the Folly Beach Pier disappearing in the distance.

I sifted through shells on the beach for a few hours, looking for sharks teeth, but unfortunately, I wasn't able to find any.

MORE STEEMIT! I am hoping this message in the sand at least got someone curious as to what Steemit is!

Other than the risk of hurricanes, I think I would like to move to one of these houses. How about you?

The reflection of the rising sun in the glistening sand made for some interesting shots. I got to the beach around 7 A.M., and if you're willing to get up early, I would recommend getting there in the early morning as well. The peacefullness of the morning breeze and silent beaches is something else.

All of these photographs were taken on an iPhone 6.

I opted to leave my Nikon at home to make a point. It's not the camera that makes a good photograph, it's the photographer. And hopefully that mentality shines through in these images.

Other than the first photograph in this post, this image below is one of my favorites I captured today.

Also this one. This one's my favorite too.

If you were wondering just how long the pier was, I tried to capture it all in this one.

And of course, I had to write my Steemit username in the sand.

I've had people ask me why I post so many photographs in each post. After all, I could have probably split this into three posts and likely made more money. But here's the thing: I care a lot more about transporting you, the reader, to a destination's beauty that I do about the money I make from these posts. If you can experience a land that you've never been to through my photography, then I have done my job.

All original photography. You can see my other adventure from today here as well.


If you enjoyed this EXPLORING post, you can check out some of my other photographs from my Explore series through the links below or FOLLOW me to stay updated on my new content.

Exploring Decay of the Urban Jungle Through Photography

Exploring the Wreckage of a Junkyard – Finding Beauty in Forgotten Places

Exploring the Beautifully Small Town of Redstone, Colorado – Population 92

Sort:  

Hey @trevorjenglish
Nice to see that you enjoyed Folly Beach, SC.
I live in Charleston and never really visit Folly enough. Mainly because I hate driving down Folly Rd in James Island.
If you're still in town and wanting to explore other local beaches, I highly recommend going to Sullivan's Island and Isle of Palms. Those are the best in my opinion but, Folly draws in the more "hip" crowd if you know what I mean :)

@ajvest, thanks for the tips! I was thinking of going out again tomorrow but wasn't sure where to go. I will take your recommendation and head to Sullivan's Island.

@trevorjenglish My pleasure!
Charleston is a great place, hence it's #1 rating of America's Best Cities
http://www.travelandleisure.com/slideshows/best-cities-in-north-america/20

If you make it to Sullivan's Island go with an empty stomach! There are some great "quaint" restaurants. My favorite is Sullivan's Restaurant...
here's the location https://goo.gl/maps/w6FQ43GhSF62
And here's a "secret" location on Sullivan Is. for taking some awesome photos of Charleston's harbor and city skyline...
https://goo.gl/maps/qLygDaYnVnP2
I think you'll find between Sullivan Island and Isle of Palms there are plenty of photo opportunity's.
When/if you go through Mt. Pleasant on Coleman Blvd. stop and check out another cool spot of the Harbor, which is here... https://goo.gl/maps/ddWi2VpMRDk
Shem Creek is another great spot... https://goo.gl/maps/Z6kUNoZ8DY92
And here at Mt. Pleasant Memorial Park LOL... https://goo.gl/maps/J2FZfxT59GK2

If you like beer and/or a mixed drink it's worth stopping at Red's Ice House @ Shem Creek and hanging out on the top deck... especially in the evening during the sun set hours.
Almost every time I go to Shem Creek, you'll see the dolphins coming up for air while hangout around the docks, almost like dogs LOL It's so cool!
FYI- Shem Creek has the freshest shrimp in town. Shrimp boats dock and unload there everyday.

Have Fun!!

WOW! Alright, well that was quite the list of recommendations, thank you so much. I am going to try and hit all of those and document them in some form here on Steemit. I'll tag you in the posts when I am done with each just so you get a chance to see my take, if that's alright :)

No problem :)
Just wanted to make sure you didn't miss any good stuff. There's obviously plenty of other places to visit, like the tourist traps but, why partake in the same'ole-same'ole?!
Yes, it would be ok to tag me if you'd like.

Beautiful photos. I was in Myrtle Beach last month and just love the beaches there. I would like to live there part time in the future.

I thought about making the drive to Myrtle Beach, but I had been there before and I decided to go somewhere new. I would love to live there too!

These photos are amazing! Sorry you couldn't find any shark teeth :)

Great Photos - I Just found Steemit. Looking around and your post is one of the first I found that includes pictures from the Grand Strand - We hope you can come back and take more photos of North Myrtle Beach, SC check out http://explorenmb.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57