You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiking the Samaria Gorge in Crete

in #travel5 years ago

Yes I would recommend them for walking in the mountains. :-)

There are some things to consider however -

  • they are not waterproof - not even a little bit
  • you need to spend a lot of time in them beforehand to get your feet and ankles etc used to them. Do this slowly to avoid injury.
  • there is no padding on the soles, so if you walk for a long time on hard uneven surfaces it will start to hurt.
  • you can't walk as fast as you can in normal shoes / boots

But you will be more agile, lighter and suffer much less fatigue than you would with normal shoes.

As for twisting an ankle - that's the whole point! You ankle is designed to twist. encasing it in a boot stops it from doing it's job.

This is one of the reasons why you need to build up to walking any sort of distance in these shoes because you also need to strengthen your ankles.

Consider this - I use these shoes to strengthen my ankles - I can walk for days in alpine territory with a full pack, roll my ankle, slip on ice, stub my toes (ouch!) and keep on going. Because my ankles and feet are strong an flexible these events are not a problem for me any more.

So that's one of the big selling points for these shoes for me - they make your legs bomb-proof

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87