One day in Leon, Nicaragua. Surfing on a volcano and visit Cathedral!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

3 of my favorite places in Leon, Nicaragua : the Cathedral of Assumption, the Church of Recollection and boardsurfing on a volcano!

The Cathedral of Assumption: charming place in the center of Leon

a.jpg

It is the biggest one of America Latina and was built in the XVIIIth century.

b.jpg

It is free to visit. Only the access to the roof needs to be paid (1$) but it is worth to check it out, the view is precious!

a.jpg

a.jpg

Opening hours: 8.00am-12.00pm ; 2:00pm-4.00pm from Monday to Saturday.

a.jpg

Church of Recollection: the color of the city

a.jpg

Surfboarding on volcano Cerro Negro: a must-do!

One hour of hiking with the board in the back...
a.jpg

Breathtaking view on the way and at the top

a.jpg

Sliding down the 728 meters of the Cerro Negro in 3 minutes
a.jpg

No worries, the last erruption was in 1999, it should be ok!
a.jpg

Price: 28$ (included two way trip in jeep, board, protection, shirt "surfing on the Cerro Negro")

Sort:  

I went to Nicaragua in 2015. I volcano boarded and webt to Leon as well. Mycfavorite part was San Juan Del Sur.

I went to San Juan del Sur too, it was crazy!

OMG that looks amazing! I am from Latin America but I never been there, I definitely have to though!

I definitely recommand it :) !!!

Sold! haha is on my list now :)
I am from Argentina and if you get a chance go to Igazu, amazing waterfalls, seriously... just glorious :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49