Photos From The Road #14 - Photographing The Petronas Twin Towers At Night!

in #travel6 years ago

Photos From The Road #14 - Photographing The Petronas Twin Towers At Night!

Hello Steemians!

I've been in Kuala Lumpur this past week, eating curry, noodles, naan bread, drinking tea. I even found a Mongolian BBQ. One of the reason I chose to return to Kuala Lumpur was, I'll admit, for the food.

There's such a huge mix of cultures, people, languages and of course food. The three biggest communities, the Malay, Indian and Chinese communities all have their own distinct cuisines, and in KL - anywhere I've been in Malaysia too really - you can have Roti Chanai for breakfast, Laksa for lunch and then a Chinese Steamboat Buffet for dinner.

It's madness. Food madness, and I love it.

The Petronas Towers


In between eating and working on my upcoming project in the Philippines I've been out and about exploring KL. It's a busy city, but it's not as hectic as other South East Asia cities I've been to. The public transport is superb, easy to navigate, frequent and cheap. It's no Singapore when it comes to this, but it's getting there. I took the shiny new MRT for the first time yesterday, and it was spotless, efficient and spacious.

The one spot I always go back to in KL is the Petronas Towers. And I always try and get there just as the sunsets - and usually right after a feast of Chicken Tandoori and Naan Bread at a food court just round the corner.

The Petronas Towers are the iconic symbol of the city. At one point they were the tallest buildings in the world. They held that lofty crown from 1998 to 2004, before the rest of the world started building even taller towers.

I found out from a Malaysian friend that soon the Petronas Towers will no longer be the tallest buildings in Malaysia either, a new, more ambitious project is almost complete. Exchange 106 is being built right now in KL, and when finished it will be stand taller than the Petronas Towers.

But the Petronas Towers they will still be the tallest twin towers in the world. Still impressive!

At night these towers are at their most photogenic, all lit up and dominating the skyline for miles. The surrounding park is the best spot to get up close for photos, and in the evening it's pleasantly cool and busy with locals and tourists alike.

It is possible to go up the towers, to a viewing platform strung between them. However, the quee is always horrendous and I feel that any skyline of KL without the Towers in it isn't really a skyline of KL at all!

Ladies and Gentlemen I give to you the latest Photos From The Road: The Petronas Towers! Petronas Towers Petronas Towers Petronas Towers Petronas Towers Petronas Towers Petronas Towers Petronas Towers Petronas Towers Petronas Towers Petronas Towers


The Week Ahead


For the next week I'll be staying put in KL as I work on Travel Continuously Summit I'm helping to organise in the Philippines. This Friday, after putting in a load of hours while I'm in KL- and eating a load more curry... - I'll be flying over to Brunei, a country I haven't yet visited for a few days before flying onto the Philippines.

I'm not quite sure what to expect from Brunei, it's a small country that doesn't get a whole lot of attention, but I'm hoping to find some unique experiences over on the island of Borneo!

All Photos And Words By Richard Collett

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures with a unique perspective of a much photographed landmark. I like the detail zoomed in. Did you go to Batu Caves while in KL?

Thank you! I did t visit Batu this time but I have been previously!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57653.41
ETH 3122.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41