5 things likely to happen when you travel for the first time to Rome, Italy

in #travel7 years ago

Hi Steemers,

So it's been some time since my last post, and I guess that's a good thing seeing as how I've mostly been drowning in work and travel arrangements. Right now I'm based in San Francisco for a couple of weeks, but before that, I was lucky enough to spend 5 days in Rome and thought I would share some travel insights from my journey -

Here's 5 things likely to happen when you travel to Rome -

1 - Sense of history = re-kindled
In Rome you are literally walking in history every step you take - the buildings, the architecture, the stories. Rome is beyond anything I have ever seen and it is absolutely mesmerizing.

2 - Your battery dies after 3 hours on account of you taking picture every 15 seconds

Here are a couple of must-sees:

IMG_20171113_145158_1.jpg
*The DOME of St.Peter's church - yes, you can actually walk up there and it is really. REALLY high. Absolutely worth the terrifying, winding, and traitorous way up (and I actually enjoy climbing).

IMG_20171113_134845.jpg
St. Peter's Square

IMG_20171111_145637.jpg
Gorgeous St. Peter's Church which can be viewed from a bunch of places in Rome - here from the Orange Garden

IMG_20171111_154007.jpg
The legendary Colosseum - imagine the people and crowd gathered here a thousand years ago

IMG_20171111_154343.jpg
One starts to wonder how the heck this architecture and structure was even possible this long ago

IMG_20171113_124710.jpg
*The Sistine chapel - The work of extraordinary artists, commissioned to do beautiful, room-sized paintings in impossible places. - it blows you mind completely off. *

IMG_20171113_133539.jpg
The Vatican Museum has so much marvels in it that you can spend 6 hours in there easily

3 - Pizza and Pasta will never be the same in your home country. Trust me. Never. Neeeever.

IMG_20171111_174024.jpg

4 - You walk your ass off
If you're not really happy with your fitness level, you're in the right city. You'll be walking more in Rome in 1 day than 3 months in your home city. It's part due to Rome's chaotic road / public transportation system and part due to the fact you need to take a photo every 15 seconds. See point 2.

5 - After 3-4 days you realize: I've not even seen 5% of this city.
So yeah - might as well just start planning for the next Italy adventure. I'm for one am throwing Rome, Tuscany, and Florence on my bucket list.

Anyone been to Rome? What did I miss?

Sort:  

great pics of Rome! you captured it beautifully :) definitely on my bucket list...i mean geez i have family there lol.

@spiceddragon - I can honestly say it was the best trip of 2017. Hands down the most beautiful city I've ever seen :) if you have family there you can cut your travel budget in half!

i know right! definitely looks memorable. the energy there must be out of this world!

Dude! KMB! I miss you. Enjoy SiliconenValley and say hi to Sandra.

Rome looks like fun! And don’t even start with the pasta and pizza...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31