TRAVELMAN VIETNAM: THINGS I SAW WALKING AROUND HANOI

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The following are shots I grabbed as I walked around the city during the days I was In Hanoi.

I guess the piggy bank business isn't as joyful as you might think...

IMG_1847.JPG

I wonder what this guy sells? Maybe lawn mowers...

IMG_1722.JPG

IMG_1724.JPG

I snapped the next shot as I was walking by the shop. I'm amazed it's framed and in focus because I just snapped it without stopping. I didn't want to be more rude than I was being. I wanted to not be caught being rude.

There was a ceremony going on next door to this flower shop. The ceremony involved many of these flower arrangements. It appeared to be very serious. Old Vietnamese men wore wide white headbands fashioned from thin strips of cloth. I didn't take a picture because I didn't want to be the disrespectful tourist- By that I mean, there was no way not to be noticed taking a secret shot. It may have been a funeral service.

Could you imagine a group of Chinese tourist snapping selfies outside of your loved one's funeral reception? I see too many tourists treating people like props for their photos. If I get pictures of people I haven't spoken with, I try to be very discreet (or sneaky, depending on how you look at it. But discreet makes me sound more polite.) There's been many times on this trip I skipped taking a photo when I really, really, really...REALLY wanted to get one. And there's been many more times that I've struck up a conversation, had a nice interaction, then asked to take a photo. The latter have been the great moments of the trip.

IMG_1713.JPG

I love this photo. It's another that I grabbed as I was walking by the store. I like the depth of it.

IMG_1717.JPG

Need a cooler for your next picnic?

IMG_1719.JPG

I like pictures of alleyways because I always think "What's down there?" ...There's a guy down there.

IMG_1703.JPG

I think it would be funny to carry around my own full-size fold up chair, so that when I sit at a sidewalk restaurant I would tower powerfully over everyone. Of course, it'd be uncomfortable eating at the low table, so I'd have to carry a fold up table as well, and that would be overkill, so people would just think I'm weird.

IMG_1704.JPG

If I tried to deliver fruit in this manner I'd arrive with one, lonely, green apple or lime or whatever those are, and I'd be proud...

IMG_1707.JPG

I painted this right before I took this picture. The cops were running up behind me so I had to run immediately afterward, didn't want to end up in a Turkish Prison...

IMG_1709.JPG

Good place for and AirB&B...

IMG_1718.JPG

I don't know which side is the wrong side...

IMG_1725.JPG

Either the owner doesn't understand the word "tiny" or he has a great sense of irony...

IMG_1759.JPG

Break time...

IMG_1813.JPG

IMG_1817.JPG

IMG_1702.JPG

I taped this scene of traffic to try and give you a sense of the chaos, but it still falls short...

!steemitworldmap 21.0377 lat 105.8510 long A walk around Hanoi's Old Quarter, Vietnam, d3scr
Sort:  

Oh my you're at Veitnam already?
I can't catch up your travelling pace!!!

I didn't call myself @travelman for nuttin'

    • SPAM UPVOTES FOR THE REPLY ABOVE*

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-vietnam-things-i-saw-walking-around-hanoi


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about Hanoi.
This is worth sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52