Travelman Thailand: A day drive on a motor scooter to Mu Ko Lanta National Park and shots of my hostel

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I rented a motor scooter on Ko Lanta yesterday. I drove it all around the island. I hadn't ridden a mini-bike or moped since I was a kid. I went super slow at first, just to make sure I wasn't going to wreck. I've heard horror stories of people wrecking on these things. I was extra vigilant, except for holding my GoPro after I'd ridden for a couple hours. At one point I stopped to buy sunglasses and I couldn't get the scooter to start back up. After about ten minutes, I realized I was simply not holding the brake in tightly enough while hitting the start button. At another point I inadvertently locked the ignition slot. That means the keyhole disappears. It freaked me out. I figured out that the hexagon on the back end of the key reopens the ignition...whew! I thought I was stuck on the side of the road for a minute. Here's some pics of my day and the Hey Beach Hostel...

Easy Rider in the flesh...
IMG_0491.JPG

The woman in Old Town who took my photo. She reminded me to take the key out of the ignition before I walked away from the scooter.

IMG_0493.JPG

Where I had an americano in Old Town...

IMG_0487.JPG

IMG_0489.JPG

A monkey in Mu Ko Lanta National Park. It's funny how quickly your mind can normalize things. This is the first monkey I saw in the park. I was like, wow monkey! Then I saw another and another. They became as normal as pigeons in my mind after twenty minutes. They were little thieving bastards. They'll try to take your backpack if they smell food in it. They run up quickly, grab your food (in or out of the bag) and run off. Watch out! I saw a mom chasing one away with a stick...

IMG_0503.JPG

More of the Park. A lot of the park consists of nearby islands and marine life. I just hung out in the small park area and walked up to a light house. There are also short trails, and if you go to the islands, good snorkeling and diving. I just went for the monkeys and a reason to take a scooter down the coast. The scooter cost me 125 THB the park is 200 THB a day

IMG_0497.JPG

IMG_0504.JPG

I passed this place on the road! I thought it was pretty funny. I don't think they served a Bigboy burger though...

IMG_0506.JPG

Pics around my hostel...

IMG_0533.JPG

IMG_0521.JPG

IMG_0538.JPG

IMG_0541.JPG

IMG_0539.JPG

They're building a new structure. Would've been nice if it was already done..

IMG_0542.JPG

The most pleasant outdoor bathroom I've ever experienced...

IMG_0550.JPG

IMG_0551.JPG

My dorm...

IMG_0549.JPG

Today I met a guy named Anthony, from Wisconsin. He's doing the same thing I am but started at the beginning of the year. He went back home for two months after India. He warned me not to go after February because it's too hot. He also told me about a walking trip through Spain that peaked my interest. Today I have to decide if I'm going to head to Malaysia tomorrow or Chiang Mi. I think Malaysia, then I'll fly to Chiang Mi after, as long as I can Leave Thailand and come back in without getting a Visa (It'll be more than thirty days and I have to figure out the rules about leaving and coming back and how soon the thirty days resets if you leave the country for a few days.)

Here's some poorly edited video clips I strung together from yesterday if you're interested...

Sort:  

Love your detailed descriptions.Can't wait till the next episode, it is like waiting for your favorite TV show to return.

Here’s your beach photo with the light and color adjusted.

C1E2A807-37A0-4E9C-A963-9A94EF0A7220.jpeg

Wow, it's like cheating. I don't remember it looking that good in person! I knew about these features but usually don't have the patience to go into them. Thanks for showing me how good it can look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68618.96
ETH 2706.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72