TRAVELMAN TANGALLE BEACH: Trying to stay cool at the Swastika Motel

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

In his eighth grade yearbook, a lot of friends advised Travelman to “stay cool! Heavy Metal Rulz!” Well, they’ll be happy to know that I’m doing my best on the first part, the second part is beyond the limits of my powers.

I found out how things get done here with all the heat and sweating and lethargy, and milling around for as long as humanly possible in the tiny, bedroom sized, mini-mart because it’s the only air conditioned business on the beach (I just want to make sure I choose the most finely crafted plastic water bottle.)

The locals rise at the crack of dawn before the sun starts scorching everything in sight. It’s nice at sunrise, quiet, cool, business employees and owners picking flowers from trees to put on newly made beds and carefully set breakfast tables, people raking leaves, dogs saying howdy doo....

Then everything turns to fire and steam! German tourists run through the streets screaming “The temperature is unnecessarily high!” But they don’t really run, they walk at a leisurely pace like families on a hot day at Euro-Disney. (Plus, it’s hard to run in lederhosen while carrying strings of sausages and steins of beer...- Want your nation to be depicted in cartoonish stereotypes?come to Travelman!)

20180405_083600.jpg****No, I didn’t walk through the wardrobe in my room. I’m not in Narnia.****

There are soooooo many Germans here. I feel like I no longer need to visit Germany! Shiza, man!

20180405_122219.jpg

I saw a hotel called “The Swastika Hotel.” I thought to myself, I know they’re trying to please Germans, but I think you’re targeting the wrong crowd!

20180405_122005.jpg

Well, joke’s on ole’ Travelman. I knew Hitler had stolen that symbol. Before I went to India, I thought he took it from the Celts. Then I saw it all over India and realized it was a Hindi symbol. What I did not know is that the word swastika is not German, it’s an ancient Sanskrit word! The German woman I spoke to about the swastika hotel didn’t even know the word swastika!

Well, wipe the egg from my face and turn me over easy! Sheez, the things you learn. ...Silly American. Shiza.

20180405_121853.jpg

I had dinner last night with a beautiful, young German woman who is finishing up a six month tour of the world.

20180402_214117.jpg****fish dinner on the beach my first night in town****

That’s when I found out about the swastika. It’s also when I found out that female tourists need to watch out for Sri Lankan men. She had her ass grabbed in Kandy, a guy lay down on the street of another town and began licking her feet, and just yesterday she was the victim of a ride by ass-grabbing here at the beach, the guy was on a bicycle.

20180404_101326.jpg

We ate at a tiny, four table restaurant I found on a side street. It’s owned by two sisters and their mom. It’s called The Little Mermaid and for the price, it was the best dinner I’ve had in Sri Lanka. So much good food for 350 LKR and 200 for fresh papaya juice.

20180405_125032.jpg

I took a walk and came across this school having outdoor games. Me and the monks on the hill, young and old, watched a race...

20180404_101512.jpg

20180405_124431.jpg

20180404_114251.jpg

I think the one in the lead should be tested for doping...

20180404_114124.jpg

Flowers for sale on side of highway...

20180405_123450.jpg

Stereo equipment, guitars and a violin for sale next to the flowers...

20180404_102636.jpg

20180405_123549.jpg

Pic below is of a partially flooded walkway crossing the lagoon. It reminds me of the fable about the monk who could walk on water. He amazed everyone with his powers gained from meditation. He told them it had nothing to do with that, you just need to know where to walk on the water.; he was stepping on submerged stones...

Shiza!

20180404_104454.jpg

20180405_124021.jpg

This is the awesome Dalmatian at my Homestay. I don’t know her name, but I know she likes to play fetch with her ball...

20180405_175237.jpg

She’s taking a late afternoon siesta. All the fetching pooped her out...

20180405_180414.jpg

!steemitworldmap 6.0390 lat 80.8112 long Learning about Swasikas in Tangalle Beach, Sri Lanka, d3scr

Sort:  

Looks nice buddy, I like going out early to explore, gives you a chance to explore and chill before the masses populate everywhere. Is the temperature similar to Thaialnd? The tea plantations on the hills and mountains look amazing over there! I look forward to your next episode, enjoy and don't forget the finer details of those plastic bottles!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-tangalle-beach-trying-to-stay-cool-at-the-swastika-motel


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48