Travelman starts his AROUND THE WORLD TRIP tomorrow morning (finally becoming Travelman for real on here!)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

"My bags are packed I'm reading to go...Leaving on a Jet plane, don't know when I'll be back again..." - John Denver

Everything I'm taking except the shoes on my feet and clothes on my back...

IMG_4679.JPG

"Some kind of happiness is measured out in miles"
-John Lennon

This past two and a half months has been a much needed summer of rest and relaxation in my home town with my family. I was quite a mess emotionally when I arrived at my parents' house in Ohio on July 3.

In California, I'd been through a bad break up and I'd burned out on my hospice nurse position. Consequently, while staying with my parents for an extended visit, I didn't do much but eat my mom's cooking, work out, sleep, hang out with my sister and her kids now and then, mow the lawn, go on two kayak excursions, and slowly but surely prepare for the trip. That was all my psyche could handle.

IMG_4507.JPG

And I watched the sunset over the apple orchard down the street....

IMG_0078.JPG

Now, I'm ready to take on the world, literally. I'm about to go on the adventure I've dreamed of most of my life. It was always gonna be someday. Someday is tomorrow. I'm starting in Southeast Asia, then up to Nepal, into India, Africa, back up to Europe, most likely swing home for a short stop, then down into South America. If I can keep going after that I'll go up to Alaska (although it may be too late in the season, I don't know).

Gonna meet people, do a lot of writing and filming, learn a lot about people, places and things and learn to live more authentically everyday, always becoming a better version of myself.

My plane leaves just after 1200 pm tomorrow. A short flight to NYC, a long 7 hour layover (I may take the subway into the city for an hour or so), then a very long flight to Qatar, and then the last leg to Bangkok, arriving Thursday morning. I just can't wait. I feel like I'm about to take a ride on a spaceship or hang out with The Rolling Stones (when they were young).

My parent's are sad, but being real troopers, finding every way to be supportive. My nieces and their boyfriends, my nephew and his girlfriend and my parents (their grandparents) went out for dinner as a group on Saturday.

IMG_2350.JPGIMG_2351.JPG

My eldest niece is on her way over as I write this to hang out with me one last time before I leave. She hopes to maybe meet up with me in Europe in the spring. ....

Just excited and so grateful for my life.

That's it. Bon Voyage to myself and can't wait to share my innocence abroad on steemit.

Sort:  

Good luck on your adventure.✌️

Stay single on this trip!! it will be a money saver!!

Right now I'm in Washington D.C. I got rerouted. Headed to New York in two hours, then back on the original schedule. I could see the Washington Monument and Capital Dome when I landed.

Feels a bit like I'm going too lol. Antibiotics....check. Sunblock check. Hmmm...are you sure you packed enough socks? :>

Everytime I wondered if I should bring more of something I reminded myself that they sell things outside of America as well. I think I'm taking too many socks. I think gI'm going to leave the left foot sock home.

Travel safely!

Enjoy the views and meeting new people. I am more than certain that at the end of your journey, you will be amazed on realizing how capable you really are.

@travelman

Woohoo! I'm so excited for you!!! I look forward to seeing and hearing your stories and maybe our paths will even cross somewhere on the globe. :) Hope your initial journey goes as smoothly and comfortably as possible.

Thank you Rovingreader. That'd be great if we crossed paths. I'll just look for the woman reading a good book at the top of a mountain.

Take lots of pictures of the mountains in Nepal so I can at least imagine myself reading there!

Congratulations @travelman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60