TRAVELMaN OXFORD, UK: Searching For Harry Potter

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I went on a rainy walk in search of Griffendorf.

20180427_171106.jpg

There was no room at the inn, so I had to move on my second night in Oxford. I even told them my wife was about to deliver the son of God, but they just directed me to a manger. I opted for a new hostel and left my imaginary wife and unborn savior behind.

A sign in my new hostel informed me that Christ Church college is a Harry Potter location shoot goldmine! I also learned that both Cambridge and Oxford consist of numerous colleges. Correct me please if I’m wrong, but as far as I can gather, they call each of them a Univerisity and under the umbrella of those universities are numerous colleges.

20180427_165024.jpg

I looked at the map before leaving my wifi and followed the two signs I spotted, but I’m not sure if I ever found Christ College or not. Either way it was a beautiful, damp walk, exactly as Oxford should be.

20180427_171210.jpg

These guys were playing rugby. Doesn’t it look like the one my camera caught in the air is insisting on doing an elaborate ballet in the middle of the rugby game?

20180502_131441.jpg

Is this Harry Potter’s school? Don’t know...

20180427_174720.jpg

20180427_174856.jpg

How about this one?

20180427_171451.jpg

20180427_172329.jpg

I’m going to tell you something you may not know about Oxford... There’s a lot of smart people there. I eaves dropped on a conversation behind me during my breakfast. Two men were talking about economics (the five “pillars”?) one guy was from China, the other was English. They were discussing with fascinating detail how the old economic models don’t hold up on today’s entrepreneurial world of tech. They brought up Airbnb and uber as examples of companies that every previous academic economic model predicted to fail.

Not gonna work, uh! Guess again, smarty pants, big shots with all your book learnin’ an’ facts’ an’ stuff. Thing is, they were smarty pants because they recognized this and were building new economic models.

I wanted to introduce myself and ask to sit and listen...

20180427_171801.jpg

This looks so England to me. Consider that I grew up on Benny Hill reruns...

20180428_103556.jpg

And this is the fantastic vibrant scenery the dampness brings. It was soooo green! People were about jogging, walking with umbrellas, I saw a deer, it was quiet and peaceful, the air smelled like water from the sprinkler in a suburban front yard...

20180427_172729.jpg

After giving up on Harry Potter I went into a genuine Rare Books Store. I couldn’t find the first edition of Fifty Shades of Grey I was looking for. When I asked the owner, he said, “You want fifty shades of grey? Stay in town a few more days and you’ll see ‘em all, you will.”

Nice one. Brilliant.

20180427_175025.jpg

A shot of town from the bus as I was leaving town the next morning...

20180428_110922.jpg

Lots of History in England. I saw a couple of these churches with cemeteries throughout town. This one was in the center of the road near the middle of town, looks like they just built around it...

20180428_110935.jpg

A cool Steeple... funny thing was- that’s all it was is a steeple, no church, no people...

20180503_140159.jpg

!steemitworldmap 51.5722 lat 1.2618 long Searching for Harry Potter, Oxford University, d3scr

Sort:  

Maybe Harry was wearing hi cloak

Oxford University. I visited three colleges. Although I managed to find the time, but it still was not enough. The thing is that visiting colleges is limited in time. In most cases, the last visit is possible until five in the evening. I was here in the afternoon, the area of ​​the colleges is impressive, had time to inspect only three.
On the territory of educational institutions the entrance can be absolutely free, or carries a purely symbolic fee of one or two pounds. At the entrance you will be given a scheme, where the buildings that tourists can visit are marked. As a rule, these are refectory students.You have got great photos, especially "ballet" :))

Glad you were able to see more than me. Did you see the great hall where they filmed Potter?

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-oxford-uk-searching-for-harry-potter


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65