TRAVELMAN NUREMBERG, GERMANY: Mickey Mouse has Grown up a Cow

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Nuremberg was only a week and a half ago, yet it seems like it’s been ages since I visited . It was a great little city with a lot of history.

(I like the colors in this pic, and pathetic Mickey Mouse.)

(I feel like he’s thinking, “Why’d she sleep with my friends? Why? And Goofy? That’s who she chose? And her thing about not wanting me to take meth is bullshit! There’s nothing wrong with my lifestyle choices.”)

(This was on the morning I arrived. It was a rainy Sunday morning and nothing was open for breakfast but one shop.)

(Notice that the statues are shooting water from their nipples... Europe.)

(This is the documentation center. It’s a large complex of partly built and/or decaying structures that the Nazis built. This particular building is congress Hall. After war broke out, it was never finished. They had big, big, big plans for an eleven kilometer area devoted to the ideals of an egomaniacal maniac. Trump would’ve loved it.)

This is the same place from across a lake. The lake was created when the Nazis dug a foundation for a crazy big stadium and never got past that point. Visiting this place spiked my latent anger at fools who believe lies because the lies conform with their preconceived fear and envy filled notions of reality. I thought a lot about Fox News when I was there.)

Hitler stood up here and gave his spittle filled speeches. I got my picture taken up there. The guy who took it said “Smile.” Somehow, it felt inappropriate. I half smiled.

View from the Hitler podium...
D1487402-9BEE-40D5-9758-72AC38C121F9.jpeg

One of the turrets on the long walls around the old part of the city.

A store with a lot going on and little space for it...

A meal I had. They are very proud of their sausages in this city. I thought they’d be bigger. I went out with a couple people from the hostel to a different restaurant the previous night. The meal in this pic was much better. That’s horseradish on the plate and it was awesome.
86F53387-7B99-4B73-9358-BFCBC0744759.jpeg

65260738-D370-4F4F-8E03-5C8D48F3B885.jpeg

The castle...

94B2744F-E15B-4087-84F2-88ADA8D05C06.jpeg

View from the castle...

E5AABCE5-8FD6-4FE3-92EF-F02198ABD7F1.jpeg

More castle...

FA24C7E7-BAEC-4A38-9093-D65AE9A43B66.jpeg

Another view from castle...

0A7BDAC2-56D2-4686-827A-F7D74EE47CE2.jpeg

!steemitworldmap 49.4485 lat 11.0766 long My Stay In Nuremberg , d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-nuremberg-germany-mickey-mouse-has-grown-upma-cow


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15