Travelman Northern Thailand: An afternoon walk around Chiang Mi's Old City

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

As of yesterday, I'm in the Chiang Mi Province's capital city, aptly named, Chiang Mi. More specifically, I'm in the old city. It's the area of town where a lot of tourists stay. I've noticed that this city attracts a slightly older tourist crowd. I've seen a lot of people I'd be sooner to peg at thirty than twenty. Maybe it's because this is the city in Thailand a lot of tourists like the most so they return again a few years later, I don't know, just a theory.

Here's a morning view from the balcony of my Hotel room...

IMG_1008.JPG

Here's a part of the wall that was built around the old city a long, long time ago (not in a galaxy far, far away though. At least, to the extent of my knowledge)...

IMG_1046.JPG

I think they built the wall to keep out the White Walkers the last time winter came to Thailand, but don't quote me on that. Actually it was built to keep out the Mongels and the Bamar people of the Taungoo Dynasty. They have wall pieces at intersections that connect the two sides of the street. They have to connect sides of the street because, besides for the wall, they also built a moat...

IMG_1068.JPG

I think it's stocked with alligators, piranhas, and sharks, but don't quote me on that either...

Here's one of the intersections...

IMG_1025.JPG

Chiang Mi has plenty of temples. Here's a couple I saw walking around the aproximately 1 square mile of the Old City...

IMG_1033.JPG

IMG_1037.JPG

IMG_1034.JPG

Like a cheap-ass bastard, I didn't put any money in the pots for the monks. Math Trivia from Travelman- Did you know that 108 is a multiple of nine, and like all multiples of nine, up to 9 x 20, the digits in the product add up to nine? After twenty it gets more complicated, but the digits in 9 x21 add up to 18 and 1+8 is nine.

I think these are the dragons that helped in defeating the White Walkers...

IMG_1058.JPG

IMG_1060.JPG

IMG_1061.JPG

IMG_1062.JPG

IMG_1038.JPG

I think this one above and below is a Buddhist temple dedicated to the Disney god Dumbo, not quite sure. This was an active temple, monks everywhere. While I was there a monk was blessing a baby and an SUV (no joke).

IMG_1041.JPG

Here is a small shrine outside a shop...

IMG_1021.JPG

Notice the cookie and glass of water. Apparently, as far as I can figure, these were left out two months early for Santa (no carrots for the reindeer though). I kid, I kid! I kid because I'm a foolish American. I'm guessing they were left as an offering to a god, who unlike Santa is lactose intolerant...

IMG_1023.JPG

Here is the Ancient Temple of Chevrolet (the "t" is silent). Locals say this temple is possibly more than TWENTY years old! Here they worship the gods Nova, Impala, Corvette, and Silverado which they represent in the form of something they call an automobile (roughly translated). The "automobiles" are thought to be females. It is said that if you walk inside the temple and stand admiring one of the automobiles, a Chevrolet devotee in a suit will walk up to you and say, "She's a 'beaut! Aint she." At this time you are advised to nod and make an exit, unless you are interested in the sacred under coating...

IMG_1055.JPG

I'm lucky enough to have the Temple of Chevrolet at the end of the alley where I'm staying, it makes a great landmark to know when I'm approaching my hotel.

I discovered that you can get a massage from a female ex-con. They have more than one of these places in the old city. They are meant to rehabilitate the former prisoners and teach them a skill. I'm not sure if you can pay in cigarettes as well as Baht. I'll ask if I go get a massage...

IMG_1051.JPG

This is a very long row of very tightly parked motorbikes...

IMG_1050.JPG

Shortly after I took the photo I kicked the bikes over and watched them fall like dominos. I waited for the Thai gangsters who owned them to come out and attack me. I fought all 58 of them off with the Kenpo Karate I learned at the strip mall in Brunswick, Ohio when I was sixteen. I had three months of study to become a purple belt. I'm basically Bruce Lee. ...Okay, maybe that was more of a Walter Mitty-like hallucination, but it's still a lot of bikes.

Here's a place where you can pay to take a nap in Michael Jackson's bed...

IMG_1057.JPG

I don't think this place studies what it looks like. Although it would be great to get a graduate degree in hugs....

IMG_1053.JPG

This is their ghostbuster-esque mobile that they jump in and race off to rescue someone who really needs a hug...

IMG_1054.JPG

Thailand is serious about their chess, otherwise Tim Rice and Abba would not have written a musical about it. "Can't be too careful with your company. I can feel the devil walking next to me" ...

IMG_1065.JPG

I think they just kept these around so 1950's Superman has a place to change...

IMG_1066.JPG

The fanciest, best tasting $1.50 Mocha Latte I've ever been served...

IMG_1067.JPG

And a nice bookend to the post, a pic of the sunset from my balcony...

IMG_1083.JPG

Awe, isn't that so nice!

As always, thanks for stopping by. We hope you enjoyed the show, and please leave your 3-D glasses in the bin at the exits on your way out.

!steemitworldmap 18.7845 lat 98.9889 long Afternoon walk in the Old City of Chiang Mi d3scr

Sort:  

I took a sip of coffee as I read the row of bikes bit, and now have the incredible sense of self that a coffee filled nose gives you haha! The small clay kid-like happy Buddhas made me grin. Please post some photos of the food you eat, if you can! Thailand is one of the places I'd like to visit most, so cool to see you there :) Thanks for the photos and giggles @travelman!

Ok, just for you I'll take a picture of the cornflakes I'm eating write now. I don't know how they do this with chopsticks.

Also, I was just thinking, Thailand is just a great country to take a vacation to. It's so easy, but so different and exotic, and nice, and beautiful, with helpful locals. I'd put it higher on my list than Malaysia. But I haven't been to the eastern part of Malaysia that has the tigers and orangutans. ...You know when you misspell a word so bad that auto-correct can't figure out what the hell you're trying to do? I just did that with orangutan before I googled it.

Haha or when google gives you the results for a word in another language :') I think orangutan would end any spelling bee run for me, it just doesn't LOOK right!

How long will you be in Thailand? Will you travel to the south? I love spicy food, there used to be a south Thai restaurant in lakewood that was my fav! It was ran by one woman as far as I can tell, and she was an incredible chef!

I already did the south, the food WAS spicy. I'm going to Pai today or tomorrow, then finding my way to Laos. That's right, I forgot you were in Believeland. I had lousy meals all week in Kuala Lumpur. On the last night, in the little town around my hotel by the airport, I had the best meal I've had on the trip other than the Italian restaurant. It was Indian fare, I'm left handed but I tried to eat with my right hand like the guy across from me (you're supposed to only use your right hand). I cheated.

You know...it looks bit tacky. Lol. I mean all of it...the statues and....idk what I thought...but it all looks like a big trift shop or smth. :)

Yeah, I would not disagree. Kind of the land of sacred lawn ornaments.

Like your style, too funny, but informative!

My friend @brightongreg, with the great New Zealand posts that everyone who sees this should check out, you can never be too funny....I think.

Thanks so much for this comment and on my other posts too. I try to pass on info but also tell a story, which sometimes can be funny too!

Beautiful photography! Hope you have enjoyed

Thanks for coming by again. Yeah, I'm an awesome photographer. I especially like the way I captured the essence of the Chevrolet building.

Good post this one. I love your experience. Sorry for the confusion before.

Wow. Wow! Thanks for coming by, and the apology. Really cool. Hope to see you 'round more!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-northern-thailand-an-afternoon-walk-around-chiang-mi-s-old-city


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Thanks for the honorable mention again in my malaysia series. I'm in northern Thailand now.

You're so welcome! I've been there too, definitely go too Pai if you're there, it's worth it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47