TRAVELMAN NEPAL: Trekking Day 3, Summiting Poon Hill at Sunrise

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

On the morning of Day 3 of my trek, I got up at five A.M. I walked out of my tea house, and under the light of the moon began the steep ascent to the top of Poon Hill

This is a shot at the top of Poon Hill, no need to see the rest of the photos now. You can just upvote, resteem, and move on. Or you can scroll through the rest of the awesome shots!

20180110_063526.jpg

This is me realizing on the walk back down from the Poon Hill Summit that there’s an upper Ghorepani and a lower Ghorepani. This is upper...

20180110_072035.jpg

And this is lower. I stayed in the first one I came to, the lower part. I saw people walking past my tea house late in the day and I wondered where the hell they thought they were going. They were walking the extra twenty minutes to the part of town with a much better view! And it cuts out 20-30 minutes of climbing the next day. So considered yourself warned, upper and lower Ghorepani...

20180110_072032.jpg

Another shot of upper Ghorepani...

20180110_070907.jpg

This is an entrance way that’s halfway to the top. When it’s early in the morning and you reach this point, you may, if you’re like me, think it’s the top. It’s not. It’s where you pay fifty rupees to go to the top. It’s also where the trail from the lower part of town meets with the upper part of town’s trail...

20180110_071744.jpg

There were so many people on this morning hike! And it’s not even the high season!

20180110_071315.jpg

I’m not a morning person. Especially when I have to crawl out of bed and hike to the top of a mountain in the cold without having had my morning coffee...

20180110_071251.jpg

I was soooo grumpy. When I’m grumpy, I don’t like to be around people -And I was on a mountain, surrounded by obnoxious tourists. Many of them do this thing where they play the music from their cell phone at top volume. Like we all enjoy hearing it instead of the silence of the beautiful mountainside in the morning. I wanted to Hulk SMASH their phones. One guy had one of those booster speakers...

20180110_071018.jpg

I got to the top. More than a hundred people were up there within the next five minutes, and more were on their way. There's a viewing tower up there and a conscession stand. A large group was hooting and hollering in the viewing tower. Half the other people were taking pictures of themselves, many pictures of themselves. I got my one, “See, I was there’ pic.

20180110_070438.jpg

I bought a cup of expensive hot tea, got even grumpier and decided to go back down. The sun was up, I’d been there, done that, it was enough....

20180110_065920.jpg

The walk back down was fantastic, very few people! I found a spot just off the trail where I got some great photos and sat listening to mostly silence and the occasional bird...

20180110_065931.jpg

The rest of my day was even better.

20180110_064322.jpg

I’ll include pics in my next post from a peak I climbed later that morning that’s only 100m shorter than Poon Hill...

20180110_063712.jpg

Everyone says that the way to do Poon Hill is at Sunrise. You’re supposed to walk up early enough so that the sunrises while you are up there. You’re welcome to do that, but if I were to do it again, I’d start an hour later and enjoy the walk up as the sunrises. There’ll less people and the view will still be great at the top. That’s me though...

20180110_063123.jpg

The views that day made me wonder if I made the right choice by taking the shorter trek. I was thinking I should have gone to base camp (In the end, the shorter trek was the right choice. My knees were giving out on the fourth day)

20180110_063019.jpg

Check out my post about the previous day of trekking by clicking to my page or go to this post now...

https://steemit.com/travel/@travelman/travelman-nepal-dog-day-afternoon-on-day-2-of-the-poon-hill-trek

Travelman log, day 201. Relaxed and talked to the locals today in Chitwan. !steemitworldmap 28.4007 lat 83.7027 long Summiting Poon Hill at Sunrise,Nepal, d3scr 347 Followers and counting, 996.4 steem earned. Rep 59.2 Travelman out.

Sort:  

Beautiful photos and post!! Enjoy your trip!!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-nepal-trekking-day-3-summiting-poon-hill-at-sunrise


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Why do people insist on playing their annoying music so loud? I like my morning peace and quiet. That is why I start my day at 3 am! Before others get up and I can have my coffee in peace!

Great photography I love it nice post

"Or you can scroll through the rest of the awesome shots!"

I NEED TO SCROLL DOWN!

WOW! you had such a good weather and clear skies. When I was there it was misty and almost nothing visible... I am jealous :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32