TRAVELMAN NEPAL: Swayambhunath, The Monkey Temple in Kathmandu (part 2)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

As we walked up the hill to the temple, Matrika talked to me about Hinduism and Buddhism. I wish I could remember the specifics of our conversation but on that day my mind was so stuffed full of new info, places, sights, and general stimuli that everything kind of turned to mush in my head; not all Buddhas are fat (just big-boned), Vishnu is the god of destruction, Hindus go to the Buddhist temples too, Nepal is dusty.

This is the entrance way to the monkey temple. The flags are prayer flags. They are hung so that the prayers can be swept up from the flags fluttering in the wind, into the air, and into existence. Lonely planet says that they are carried up to heaven by the wind horse. Matrika says that it’s all about movement, with movement it comes to life. I think they look nice, like party decorations.

We walked to the left of this, went around a corner...

20171214_111958.jpg

And then I realized there was a tiny neighborhood perched up on the hill with the temple...

20171214_112314.jpg

We walked up the stairs and were greeted by this...guy? Very metrosexual guy?

20171214_112352.jpg

Then we passed people selling things. A couple guys were selling their etchings. This gentleman was etching a very long rant about why he’s right and his ex-girlfriend is wrong about the ending to the Christopher Nolan film, Inception. Personally, I think he could have just typed it, but he’s an etcher, and etchers etch...

20171214_112424.jpg

Then we entered the neighborhood square. There are shops and a hostel up there. That’s Matrika in the red, white, and blue sweater...

20171214_112448.jpg

Matrika said that people buy these smaller tower thingys and put them here. You know, to fill out the space, open up the square, maybe accentuate the stupa (when you have a stupa, you always want to accentuate it)...

20171214_112536.jpg

This is a very old statue. People pray to it. Once again, my mind turned to mush by the end of the day, so I don’t know how old exactly, but I can confidently say it’s more than five yeas old- Somewhere between five and 900 years old...

20171214_112554.jpg

Tah! Dah! A monkey at the monkey temple! And it gave me a great photo opportunity. What a nice monkey! Not for the pic, but for refraining from biting me...

20171214_112647.jpg

More of the shrines and objects that offer opportunities to pray...

20171214_112824.jpg

A woman was selling these alongside some other souvenirs. Matrika said that they are fossils that are found up in the Himalayas. It’s sold as a rock in two pieces that opens up like a puzzle to reveal the fossil. I didn’t say anything, but they seemed a little too perfect and valuable to be for sale at a souvenir shop alongside Buddha key chains...

20171214_112905.jpg

Another area that looked more like an outdoor lawn ornament store, with a monkey...

20171214_113014.jpg

This was a pit with some kind of weather beaten snake carving at the bottom- A snake or an untwisted animal balloon- I could go either way on that because it was merely a long cylinder shape. I’m going snake though...

20171214_113057.jpg

Alright, that’s all for now folks. Tomorrow I’ll upload the big finale. I’ll tell you about the stupa and the theiving monkeys!

!steemitworldmap 27.7149 lat 85.2904 long Swayambhunath, the Monkey Temple Part Deux in Kathmandu-Nepal, d3scr

Sort:  

Man, your commentary always keeps me laughing. (If I were an etcher I would be etching this comment and sending it to you to display by your stupa.)

I’m glad you like the etching joke, I was pretty happy when that came to me. I like when I think of something and it makes me laugh like crazy, and then I’m like “I hope somebody else gets this. Cuz it’s funny!” And then people don’t comment and I wonder if a joke is told and no one laughs is it still a joke? (I’m in a place with a lot of Buddhist temples so the zen koans are on my mind.)

I'll go ahead and say if it makes you laugh, it's still a joke.

Nice post keep posting
Please upvote and share love
Nepal is beautiful country

ya bro always vote for nepal and nepalese good post. we all need help of each other for the growth.i am always follow nepalese and vote each of their post.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-nepal-swayambhunath-the-monkey-temple-in-kathmandu-part-2


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

This was an interesting and amusing post to read, great work Mr travelman! I have nominated you for the seven day black and white challenge, check out the posts on my page, I think you will enjoy doing it! As usual I look forward to reading your next post! Keep travelling to supply us with more of your stories!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63