TRAVELMAN NEPAL: How to Travel in Style on the "Super Deluxe VIP" Bus from Kathmandu to Pokhara!

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

After looking into my options of mode of transport from KTM to Pokhara, I chose Jagadamba’s Super Deluxe Bus.

CB6FDF14-168F-4652-9E1A-5543544FF7E0.jpeg

You have many options. The price of a flight is fixed at around 120 dollars for foreigners. As I remember, you can go through a travel agent and they may be able to sell you a ticket cheaper than that. I think it had to do with the fact that since they were Nepalese and purchasing the flight for you they could get it cheaper. A little work around of the rules.

You could go the super cheap route and take the local bus, but you may never arrive. I hear it takes forever, on top of it being uncomfortable.

They have tourist buses and deluxe tourist buses as well. Some have a/c, some not, you chose what to pay for. The deluxe is a bit better, I think because they give you water and the seats are a bit more comfy. You pay anywhere from 9 to 17 dollars for these.

You can also do what I did and travel like a boss on a bus for 25 dollars. I thought it was well worth the extra cash. It’s approximately an eight hour journey. I wanted to be comfortable, and I was.

93F88F34-3374-4092-B7E5-E5C4B7AE6359.jpeg

The busses only have twenty one seats. If you book early enough you can get on the driver’s side. It has the view of the Himalayas. You can book online or take the easier route of booking through your hotel or a ticket agent on the street. The pick up point is a twenty minute walk or 3 dollar cab ride from Thamel.

The busses have two stewardesses serving you. Maybe you’ll get one with hair down past her bottom like I did. I’ve noticed a much higher percentage of women here grow their hair extremely long. It may have to do with where they grew up. I get the sense it’s more of a traditional look (upvote to whoever name’s the movie on the screen first!)...

B6732659-2877-4B80-96DF-8B1E8ACC7D42.jpeg

The seats have plenty of leg room and you can press a button to make your feet go up, and another button to give your back more support. It’s like sitting in a lazy-boy recliner...

1268C6D7-15D3-407F-B8A9-DE7D8EF9D06F.jpeg

You have your own control panel including a bell to call the stewardess. They didn’t have headphone jacks for the tv though. That was one of only two negative check marks for the ride. The people sitting directly in front of the tv had control of the remote most of the time and thought it was their personal tv. They chose to watch bad Nepalese music videos at a loud volume. I eventually had to ask the stewardess to turn it down.

Like many busses it had WiFi. You should never count on this working once the bus pulls out of the station. It didn’t work on this bus either...

B981D0C3-F64F-412B-BE21-994A0C165815.jpeg

At the beginning of the ride they give you a newspaper in your choice of Nepalese or English, choice of tea or coffee, this little sandwich snack, and a bottle of water, they give you water and tea again after lunch...

011EAF24-D003-416E-9603-B2B68999AD58.jpeg

Halfway to Pokhara we stop for lunch at a nice resort. I thought it was going to be a place where I could buy a snack. To my surprise, a full lunch buffet was included in the price of the ticket (dal bhat tali, and a couple other dishes. Hot and cold water was available. Other drinks were an extra overpriced charge from the resort. The food was great and the resort bathrooms were top notch (I’ve seen many scary food stop bathrooms, especially here).

F20939D3-F970-4F82-813C-DA89019E9D44.jpeg

820949C1-5B31-4435-8BDA-4163DFC73DB2.jpeg

Here are pics I took from the gas station when we were about an hour outside of town. I was so excited to see those mountain peaks...

F0C62F38-A76F-4C5B-9E4B-0660E652AD4A.jpeg

8485BDFB-410C-4F31-BC3C-369A0823B8D8.jpeg

My bus is the gold one on the far end (Of course the super deluxe is gold!)...

EA712821-D5F2-408A-80F8-B071D2175002.jpeg

When you get off the bus in Pokhara ask someone on the street which way to the lakeside and they’ll be happy to tell you. It’s less than a ten minute walk. I sat in a coffee shop to charge my phone and look at google maps. It was New Years Eve and a street Festival was already under way. Suddenly I heard loud drums and another instrument. It sounded like they were coming inside. I looked up and saw this....

A571A615-CF05-4806-9248-D9651068F4A6.jpeg

It’s one of those costumes where somebody is the head and someone is the ass. I bet the ass lost a bet...

363217A8-F6EE-4486-B9E0-0F7F23E651E5.jpeg

A66BA94F-7853-4B32-9AC5-C4139D765E47.jpeg

730B750C-82DE-4C73-8DB5-51F4476C9036.jpeg

I stopped to marvel at the view every couple feet. I couldn’t get over how imposing the Himalayas were, nor how beautiful. I saw many solo travelers walking down the street during my stay. It was obvious who had just arrived in town for the first time because they all had a look on their face like they were eight years old and they’d just discovered a load of gifts from Santa waiting under the tree. Not exaggerating, I saw the unmistakable look of absolute wonder and giddiness numerous times.

DDD78F2A-C9C6-4701-B987-BE64B47F600E.jpeg

I went travel guide information guy heavy on this post. Not sure if its what my readers are looking for at this point, thought I'd expand my scope for the day.

Travelman log, day 198. Going on Jeep safari today. !steemitworldmap 28.2098 lat 83.9569 long how to ride In Style from Kathmandu to Pokhara, Nepal Pokhara,Nepal, d3scr 335 Followers and counting, 977 steem earned. Rep 59.1 Travelman out.

Sort:  

Another one rides the bus. Isnt that a song by Queen?

When I took the bus from Pokhara to Kathmandu the agency was promising that I will arrive before 2, in reality, I arrived at 5 :D almost missed my flight ;) AC and deluxe is the best option :) no dust coming from the windows (:

Yeah I learned to never trust the estimates. They’ve been honest with me so far though in the iciness of arrival times. They tell me the time and then say, BUT it could take two or three hours more, you never know. I’ve appreciated that, even though like I said, I’ve learned to expect that no matter what. Did you take this super duper VIP bus. I just took the regular delux to Chitwan. It wasn’t bad.

If I remember correctly I didn't take deluxe one, at least it didn't have this fancy meal :D. It was just the one with AC, but it was super cheap 600rs as I remember :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-nepal-how-to-travel-in-style-on-the-super-deluxe-bus-from-kathmandu-to-pokhara


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I love your work today, too. Awesome pics with nice comments

Awe, I bet you say that to all the users ...oh wait, I checked your page, you do say that to everyone. Comment spam is not the way to steem glory.

Hhaha it's not, coz my English is terrible so I thought This comment is the best way to say! but thanks.

Hi! Nice to meet you @traveleyong. English looks good. Feel free to stop by anytime and talk some more.

The best bus I ever took was in Chile. It had 180 degree reclining seats and they even came around put a mattress on top so you could sleep better. It was like flying business class. Unfortunately that deluxe overnight bus led me to Santiago and a 13 hour flight in economy back to Australia.

Hey there! Let´s go for a coffee today? Ill leave Pokhara tomorrow :) I know some nice places. Got time?

I’m in Chitwan. Are you in Chitwan?

Ah damn, missed you :D I am in Pokhara now..

Thanks for the review of the bus! It seems like you don't want to leave Nepal! I was the same. I cried blood when it was time to leave. The nature is so overwhelming and the people so true to me, I felt that country was inside my skin.
On a unrelated note, you should write a post on all the "scary food stop bathrooms" - I know it will be gross :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52