TRAVELMAN NEPAL: “The Heart of Low Visibility” a Canoe Ride and Walk in the Chitwan Jungle

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

FB3DD054-C1AF-45C3-84CD-7CB1736C721E.jpeg

I took a misty morning canoe ride down the river in the buffer zone of Chitwan National Park. The buffer zone is part of the park you must pay to get into- but you pay less because it’s on the edge...??? I didn’t really understand the workings of their park system.

Vishnu was my guide on this morning. I shared the cost of the trip with an Australian doctor. We were driven to this starting point outside of town. Boat men sat around a morning fire waiting for the tourists and their guides to arrive...

6127471F-A888-4EE4-B85B-9DCE85EF792E.jpeg

These canoes are each carved out of a single tree...

DF4AA30E-5F59-4757-BF42-58D739B0A58F.jpeg

Vishnu, the doctor, and I shared the canoe with a group of Chinese tourists. I swear they took more pictures of themelves than anything around them, or at least they had to put themselves in each picture. The one woman spent the first ten minutes taking the perfect selfie of herself. They didn’t know how to exit the canoe without nearly capsizing it either. Being that we’d encountered crocodiles, I was none too happy ‘bout that...

In the meantime, I was thoroughly enjoying the quiet of the morning. The mist makes it feel as though the jungle is taking a long yawn before it awakes. As I mentioned in my last post, the warm spring water of the river creates all the mist...

0B420D93-78F0-45E1-B1D9-FDF309806C6B.jpeg

Birders would love Chitwan. My guide had a thick book with him of all the species of birds in Nepal. Every time we saw a bird, he would identify it, find it in the book and show us a picture and blurb about it. If I remember correctly these were Darters. They’re named darters because they’re championship left handed dart players (like so many things, don’t quote me on that)....

59FE26FA-D3B1-4FBF-9C7B-60DE3E42B9D1.jpeg

We came across the first of many crocodiles. It was thrilling to pass by them only meters away...

5A37B855-E54C-4157-8D22-ADA6ED164944.jpeg

One of the various species of the Kingfisher found in the region. A beautiful bird, and it seems like they know it...

3A301FD2-8128-448E-BE68-AA2742E212A8.jpeg

We got out of the boat after an hour and went for a walk in the jungle.

This is a termite mound. This one was taller than me. Vishnu explained that the termites gather the dirt from inside the mound as they build upward. They build it so tall so they can gather at the top during the monsoon season floods. I think they do it to try and outdo the neighboring termites. “I live in a six foot tall mound!” “Oh, really. Mine’s seven.”...

55377886-86DE-41F9-B139-A15E4201EF03.jpeg

Let’s play find the wild life! Where is it in this one?

1858EA7A-F0AC-4A4E-A043-06D6A42E90A3.jpeg

It’s in the center of the pic, the same spotted deer as one of these two...

D572ADF2-D998-4915-9249-4DE2CCBC066D.jpeg

In the trees of the island in the below pic are a stork and and eagle, trust me. We encountered a giant stork later. I didn’t get a picture because I was too busy being mesmerized by the size of it’s wing span and the sound of its wings as it took flight from the water. We were about ten meters away. It’s wings sounded like a pterodactyl’s wings... Yes, I have heard a pterodactyl fly, thank you. I’ve seen all the Jurassic Park movies...

A47E0539-E183-4E12-8C74-A57F58A62E54.jpeg

Vishnu made it clear that jungle trekking is serious business. The government requires each group (even if it’s a single tourist) to have two guides. A second guide accompanied us, he didn’t speak much English...

20180119_095113.jpg

Vishnu said that the wild elephants are the most dangerous, and they’d been around the area lately. They can knock over trees and will charge you. He advised us to run behind the biggest tree we could find if they came after us...

20180119_094532.jpg

If a rhino were to charge us, we were to run in zigzags and climb a big tree...

20180119_095113.jpg

If we encountered a sloth bear, we were in trouble. Vishnu said that they always attack. The guides bang the stick they carry on the ground and make as much noise as they can to scare it off. We were supposed to scream and yell as well. If it still attacks, the sticks become clubs. I told Vishnu that he could count on me for the screaming...

20180119_095241.jpg

I mentioned in my last post that a guide had been maimed by a rhino while I was in town. Last year a guide saved a tourist’s life by fighting off a bear. The guide was mauled badly. The other guide beat the bear off. Can you imagine being that tourist?

20180119_100813.jpg

Here is my imaginary review on Trip Advidsor posted by this tourist:

“CHITWAN JUNGLE TREK 4/5 STARS— I had a fine trip. Sabin was knowledgable, helpful, and spoke very good English. It was most exciting when he was mauled by a bear. He demonstrated his extensive English curse word vocabulary during the attack. The excitement provided me with some great pictures for my instagram feed. Thanks to Sabin and the bear, my following has tripled. My Nikon 360 proved to be an excellent pre-trip camera purchase. The only reason I can’t give the tour five stars is due to my trip being cut short because Sabin almost bled out while waiting for the helicopter. The helicopter ride was excellent except for all the moaning and yelling. FYI helicopter ride is not included in every tour and it is not advised to ask for a selfie with the medic while in flight.”...

20180119_101115.jpg

Rhino tracks...

20180119_100117.jpg

The deer were stil hanging in the same spot on the way back...

6BC9F55B-711D-41E9-ABD4-E8961978A43C.jpeg

Travelman log, day 206. Everything is closed due to Republic Day in Delhi, spent the day planning. !steemitworldmap 27.5850 lat 84.5042 long . A Canoe Ride and a Walk in the Chitwan Jungle, Nepal, d3scr 365 Followers and counting, 1019.3 steem earned. Rep 59.3 Travelman out.

Sort:  

You have become my number one way to avoid doing my job Travelman! Thanks for all the posts, I feel like I am with you every step (Wish I could pop in for a couple of days and have a beer with you.) What have you learned about yourself on the trip so far? I imagine having all the alone time has led to some deeper reflection. Asking for a friend. Travel on Travelman! (I'm still trying to make this a thing)

I read this when I woke up in the middle of th e night . I thought of many great answers as I fell back asleep. Now hthere locked inside my dreams. I suppose I’ve learned to be Travelman, and travel on. I’’ve felt less alone on this trip than I have at most times in my life. I’m always meeting new people and hanging out with them. I value my alone time much more now. I’ve gained a lot of self knowledge. IT’s lik...It’s more like operating a software program after having read a lot of the user manual now. My keyboard is messed up this morning (literally, now longer talking metaphor)- I mean simile. The backspace key isn’t working...Maybe this entire reply (is a metaphor on another level....Hmmm

Also, I should hold back on what I say so we have something to talk about when we see each other (remember that±±)± Dgagnabbit, my question mark isn’t working. I’ll be in Ohio in August for a wedding. I’d like to come up and see you.

I'd love to see you and hear tale of your many adventures Travelman. I've heard from other travelers that travelling alone leads to better connections, meeting people you would have otherwise passed by etc..I'm interested in the self knowledge piece. I think we under-reflect as a people, rushing around to do one thing after another without thinking about why or gauging how the experiences affect us. I feel like for me, writing on a regular basis for my job has helped somewhat in that,I'm glad to hear that you are learning about yourself.... Travel in Travelman, Travel in.(Imagine me nodding my head in a wise and knowing way while saying that, it makes it much cooler.)

I can only imagine the number of death waivers you had to sign. Although it's Nepal, so maybe not.

Nada, none. Like you said, It’s Nepal`

~~~```~

Lol lol on the imaginary review...i have no idea why would anyone take this trip. :D No offence there travelman lol. Though I must admit...the mist and trees make it look so enchanting.

It’s really not that dangerous. They told me of three incidences in the past year and a half, so I figure those are good odds. The stories did make me less eager to spot one of the animals up close though. The review made me laugh to myself while I wrote it.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-nepal-a-trip-into-the-heart-of-low-visibility-a-canoe-ride-and-walk-in-the-chitwan-jungle


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Ah, man, thanks for sharing so many photos! I feel like travelling with you.
I was hoping to find a photo of some wild ganja at some point, there is plenty in Nepal :D

I take it the only arms that the guides have are sticks? What? No machetes?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32