Travelman Malaysia: Flaming coconuts in Kuala Lumpur

in #travel7 years ago

Outside the temple, men sold cocunuts at their coconut stands. They sold flower garlands as well. Inside the temple some men were wrapped in robes. They walked amongst arrays of flowers and candles. As I walked by the scene on my way back to the hostel, a man passed me, he carried a flaming coconut.

IMG_0832.JPG

IMG_0826.JPG

IMG_0834.JPG

Not to be one to let a flaming coconut sighting go uninvestigated, I hung around. I soon saw a man order a coconut, the seller put two flat white squares on top of it, they may have been sugar, or something waxy and flammable, and then he lit it on fire. Men walked around with their flaming coconuts. I asked an old man if he spoke English. He did.

12 seconds...

The old man told me that they light the coconut, they pray with it in their hand, asking their Hindu god for nothing bad to happen to them. Then they smash the coconut, as an offering, exposing the white heart, the purity, of the coconut.

IMG_0766.JPG

Sort:  

You made it so far...I almost regret not being round! Will have to catch up on my reading! :)

very interesting belief.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72