TRAVELMAN INDIA: The Taj Majal is the Perfect Place to Take a Picture of Yourself

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

As I’ve mentioned, I went to the Taj Majal. It’s one of those things. If you drive past the Grand Canyon, you should stop and see it, because it’s there. That’s what I did with the Taj Majal, I went because I was there and it was there...

626D5E60-0B92-4798-9959-F70CF564CBAA.jpeg

Also, as I’ve mentioned in past posts, Travelman hates steps like Indiana Jones hates snakes. The only thing Travelman hates more than steps is crowds. And the only thing Travelman hates more than crowds is writers that refer to themeselves in the third-person (lucky for me, Travelman is a bit of a character based on me. Just like the Larry David on Curb Your Enthusiasm. So, I’m can still love myself. ...Also, always remember what Jeanine Garafolo taught us in the movie The Truth About Cats And Dogs. “You can love your pets, you just can’t LOVE your pets.”)

The Taj Majal has crowds of people. I was there in the morning, so there were less of them, but still not enjoyable. It seemed that most visitors thought it was built as the perfect backdrop for taking pictures of themselves. I’m not exaggerating. There were endless amounts of people taking selfies or getting their pic taken in front of the big marble walls- And it wasn’t to showcase the wall. They were pretty tight shots. They saw the marble as a light board to bounce light perfectly into their face.

E4C15F59-EC7A-41D7-8E0E-A1A94A954C6C.jpeg

In case you’re curious. This is the Train that I took there and back to Delhi. It was around 22 dollars round trip. You have to register on the site to buy train tickets, it’s like becoming a member. The hostel uses the memberships of the employees to buy tickets for the guests. You only get to buy so many tickets a month with your membership. It was near the end of the month so I was lucky all their tickets weren’t used up...

8B8F8EF3-2496-4CC9-9F92-4F7AD158A519.jpeg

They have outlets to charge your devices on the train. You can see them if you look...

1F012E1A-3D5E-4A02-A929-D9DAE6D7DBE8.jpeg

This is one of the gates around the Taj Mahal. A wall made of the same stone surrounds the compound...

958CF7AE-B8CB-40DD-B7AC-144BB4D2BBC0.jpeg

44D80A88-BF58-4EDD-8A0E-3E18638DE638.jpeg

This is what it looks like Behind the Taj Mahal...

71FEE714-568F-4753-8E7F-144D1BC9A1F8.jpeg

Also behind the Taj Mahal...

87FF4002-CADB-4F3F-A8C7-48C4CC29DE04.jpeg

7D9CC226-A72D-480C-B52F-4D220EA036ED.jpeg

79EE9C21-BC6C-464B-B162-833AFE271A77.jpeg

These flowers and inlay designs are all made of semi-precious stones imported from all over the world...

AE10C430-F67C-4613-AA87-4C992D4D8107.jpeg

FF781A40-6A5A-4399-A48F-6B526E0C8744.jpeg

This is looking into the mausoleum. You’re not allowed to take pictures inside. That didn’t stop a lot of people from taking pictures of themselves

9ADE6665-BC46-4257-890B-EAEBF2DA3D67.jpeg

I have to go check out a yoga class, so I don’t have time to write about it til the next post, but I walked through the town of Agra and witnessed a daily life that is thankfully extremely foreign to me, and I talked with a local on the train who worked In Delhi and grew up in Agra. He works for Microsoft. So stay tuned.

Travelman log, day 211 I missed that Yoga class because I couldn’t find toilet paper, wasn’t able to buy any until after it started. !steemitworldmap 27.1749 lat 78.0423 long . Taj Majal is the Perfect Place to Take Pictures- Of Yourself, d3scr 372 Followers and counting, 1074.1 steem earned. Rep 59.3 Travel on, Travelman out.

Sort:  

Who wouldn't want to take a selfie with it?
I mean, it's 2018 😆! We wouldn't want to miss anything without our face in it.

They were taking pictures up against the wall. If you were to see that picture, they could be anywhere! Selfie obsession bugs me enough, but when you’re at the TajMajal and taking turns getting pictures of each other in front of an indiscriminate wall...Ugghh! Travelman SMASH!

Lol. This was fun to read. Sorry you missed your yoga class. But it's India, I'm sure there will be more. As a long time yogi and fan of your work, please write it up once you've made it there.

I will be sure to. Im signing up for a month long intensive and worried i wont have much opportunity yo post in that time. Ive taken three yoga classes in my life and done some p90x yoga...now im doing this. Life is fun!

Hmm... Did you start a second account or is this a fake travelman?

sorry, yeah just got a second account and forgot i was logged into it. I go]t it for resteeming and less travelman like posts.

Yeah planet trekker is me

Espero conocer algún día ese lugar :)

Nice post!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-india-the-taj-majal-is-the-perfect-place-to-take-a-picture-of-yourself


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57387.61
ETH 2518.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31