TRAVELMAN INDIA: Some Days I Feel Like I’m in Yoga Bootcamp

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I practically had to astral project out of my body and drag myself out of bed in order to get to class on time this morning. My body ached, I needed more dreams, and rolling over in bed felt like part of an obstacle course. I told myself, “you can do it. This is why your’e here. Remember, you’re not getting up to go into a 13 hour nursing shift so this is comparatively a piece of cake!”

9C61AD0A-035E-41E8-B8BD-CDBA4A23AF66.jpeg

I made it to class. My body acted like an ornery child, it refused to cooperate. I dragged it kicking and screaming through the asanas. I fought off my irritability through the two and a half hours. I was more frustrated than ever with not being able to do the asanas past the most minimally basic level. EVen though it wasn’t the case, I felt an expectation to do more than I was able to do.

4432726A-D601-40FA-B315-15121254ECE7.jpeg

After class, we have about twenty minutes before brunch, the first of two meals served each day. We can choose to help set up the tables and plates if we feel like it. Part of our overall “grade” is based on our attitude, our cleanliness, and how much we help. I think we can only lose points in regards to these. I’m not too concerned about that and think it’s kind of over the top.

After brunch we Have free time from 11:15-ish. We get three hours that goes by in the blink of an eye. It’s filled with studying, drinking coffee, getting personal tasks done, and socializing with classmates. From 2:20 to 4:00 we have theory lecture. I find these insufferable. Many of them are taught by Yogi Bear. He teaches about the Bandhas, chakras, mudras, pranayamas, etc... I’m not buying what he’s selling. It’s on the level of astrology to me.

24813D77-BC32-4DB0-B548-AFE4CCFE7D44.jpeg

At five PM we have a second yoga class for two hours. Three days a week it’s taught by Gunther the Greek, and three days are taught by Amba from Spain. Amba teaches us how to correct, adjust, and assist students (we take turns adjusting our partner), and Gunther kicks our ass with Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga (fast paced “flow yoga”).

10FDA9CF-1288-40F6-BC62-FDB27627D24F.jpeg

At 7:30 dinner is served. We have to chant mantras as they walk around serving us from steel buckets (great food). Then we chant the before food mantra, then we’re allowed to eat. Not into the mantra chanting.

We wash and dry our own plates and silverware, and then at 8:45 until 9:30 PM is meditation. They frown on us leaning against the wall in meditation so it uncomfortable at times.

After meditation I try to get some sleep and do it all over again the next day. Gunther offers morning Ashtanga from 6:30 to 7:30 three days a week. I haven’t been able to get myself out of bed for that.

!steemitworldmap 30.1259 lat 78.3239 long . I feel like I'm in Yoga Bootcamp in Rishikesh, d3scr

Sort:  

Hi, I just came across your posts and am loving them. Sadly I have to go to work in 10 minutes, but I will back later to keep reading some more.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-india-some-days-i-feel-like-i-m-in-yoga-bootcamp


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow. This does sound like yoga boot camp. I love yoga (and practice Ashtanga) but I'm not sure I want to do that much in a day. I find sitting in meditation for long periods of time hard too. It doesn't relax me.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64454.42
ETH 3179.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57