TRAVELMAN INDIA: More from the Beatles Ashram where they Studied with the Mararishi Yogi

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

It was great to visit the ruins of the compound that The Beatles stayed at during their TM studies in India fifty years ago this month. (Btw I’m really proud of how much info I so easily conveyed in that opening sentence).

Visitors have scrawled graffiti and artists have painted murals across many of the ruins...

D5F7CAA0-D44F-44BD-91C1-7FD102EF6A57.jpeg

It was cool to be where they were when they wrote many songs that appeared on the White Album. I’d always imagined them having stayed in big tents, so it was peculiar seeing that they stayed in little hotel-like rooms (You can see those rooms in my prievious post)...

A4253E1F-F66C-4F34-AE70-7CB0C3E4952D.jpeg

It was even better to go on a day when I was the only visitor (Again, any Indian authorities reading, I mix fact and fiction. Everything was on the up and up)).

881AFDFA-0832-4A4F-8D91-AC9269B62CDF.jpeg

I’m happy that I didn’t have to witness endless streams of young women doing yoga poses in front of the beautiful architecture and murals painted by artists. Does every young woman who has ever done yoga have to break out in asanas everywhere now? Do they teach this in your classes? Has the Sanskrit translation of asana been whittled down from its original “asana pose for the camera.” Is this something I’m going to have to endure from now on?

55A3948D-D981-4119-B597-E4062A480B09.jpeg

I’m waiting to see a selfie posted online of a young yoga enthusiast doing an asana in front of the Mona Lisa. “Oh, oh. This is such a beautiful picture of a lady! (place, event, etc). Here! Get a picture of me standing on my head and spreading my legs! I want to make it more about me showing off.”

60764C87-9716-453E-91C7-EC8C38EB612A.jpeg

These pics are of the main hall where the guests gathered for social events. When the Beatles, Donavan, Mike Love, Mia Farrow, and Prudence Farrow were here they celebrated George Harrison’s 25th birthday. Harrison gave a sitar performance. I’m betting this is the building where they held the festivities.

C2C09ED7-7A27-4FD6-887A-163832AB2F91.jpeg

820354A6-88B9-479F-9B26-348B19412F31.jpeg

!steemitworldmap 30.1098 lat 78.3122 long . More from where the Beatles studied in Rishikesh India, d3scr

Sort:  

Non-descript comment

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-india-more-from-the-beatles-ashram-where-they-studied-with-the-mararishi-yogi


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

To be completely honest, at the beginning of the post, I had high hopes I was going to see you in a weird yoga position before I finished my reading...just for mocking purpose.😂 Damn it! Maybe next time.

I remember how prints in India are not that common for political election and instead they are using paint everytime they want to write some slogans. At least in south.
I wrote more about my experience here https://steemit.com/travel/@jalapenohop/top-5-unknown-places-in-india-or-where-i-spent-wisely-while-traveling

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57430.35
ETH 2423.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32