Travelman in Thailand Chapter 5: Krabi traffic lights and overnight stay in Ao Nang

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I chose to go to Railey Beach after Khao Sok, I didn't end up there though. In order to get there I had to take a mini-van to Krabi, then transfer to a covered pick up truck to Ao Nang.

The street lights in Krabi were a fancy surprise. I took these pics with my cheap Samsung phone from the back of a moving pick up at dusk, so they're not the greatest. If you want to see these more clearly, you can google images of Krabi street lights and they come up...

20171003_181946.jpg

20171003_181959.jpg

20171003_181546.jpg

20171003_181851.jpg

20171003_182056.jpg

.
.
Right? What the fuhh...

20171003_182115.jpg

These golden elephant lights were in a town somewhere about thirty minutes before Krabi...

IMG_0324.JPG

Limestone mountain pass and the happy, crazy driving, chauffeur 's hat. (I guess they're not mountains, but something else per say.)...

IMG_0331.JPG

I had to stay the night in Ao Nang because the next ferry to Railey Beach didn't leave until the next morning. This strip of beach I stayed at was more developed with classy resorts than any area I've seen so far in Thailand. None of the buildings were shacks, the sidewalks were...well, for one, they had sidewalks, and two, they were nice. I don't know why this town attracts couples and families with money. Maybe it's just a good jumping off point to destinations nearby. Or maybe it's this view from the concrete path along the beach...

IMG_0342.JPG

Here's the entrance to one of the fancy hotels...

IMG_0337.JPG

Oddly, my hostel way cheap. 150 THB for the night. That's half what I paid in other places. It was nice, the 88Hostel it was called. I was the only person staying in the entire place for the night.

The morning that I was supposed to go to Railey Beach, I decided to go to Ko Phi Phi instead. Lonely Planet says Railey is all about rock climbing. It looked nice in internet pictures, but I thought that I could go to Ko Phi Phi and relax on a tropical island for a few days and get some planning and writing done. Wow, was I wrong about that!

Lastly, I saw a three foot crocodile in this river that was a few yards from the beachfront street in Ao Nang. The croc was tagged with a collar. It disappeared in the time it took me to scramble for a camera...

IMG_0332.JPG

Next post: Travelman discovers he DOES NOT like Ko Phi Phi. Travelman does not like it one bit, even less than a pickle peanut butter horseradish sandwich.

Sort:  

After reading your post, I just can say Why??? Why those lights? But it's definitely interesting. So I want to nominate this post to our daily compilation @ocd. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Sure, I love attention... And, I know right? What's up with the cavemen?

I have been reading all of your posts and really enjoying them. Thanks for posting. You actually convinced me to sign up for Steemit! By the way, I am the real coolest guy in the world. Also I'm thinking about posting about my experiences as an Uber driver/pastor. I started 6 weeks ago and it has been fascinating. I actually said these words to a rider the other night.."I think this is a sign, you called an Uber and you got a pastor." Champagne wishes and Caviar dreams- Ninja Driver

Yay! Ninja Driver Returns! Ninja Driver: The Dark Ninja? Sounds like a pretty cool way for a pastor to meet people. You're going to like it here on Steemit.

That was a fantastic log of your journey! I thoroughly enjoyed reading through it as well as seeing the pictures!

I've been reading through your page. You've been here awhile. Your posts make a lot of money. Your enthusiastic comments, such as the ones left on my page here and in another post, both with no upvote or resteem, seemed suspicious. I looked at your comments and they seem to repeat quite a bit, almost like a robotic program...Hmm. Am I wrong?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51