Travelman in Malaysia: Things I saw on a bicycle ride on Langkawi

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Today I was feeling kind of bummed about not enjoying Langkawi. I felt all traveled out, "Yeah, another beautiful beach, whoop-de-do. Another cool hostel I never want to leave, yay. "

IMG_0614.JPG

"There's just going to be more of the same awesomeness tomorrow, and the next day, and the next, for the next year, ho-hum." It's really a weird feeling to experience. Every few days is a completely new and awesome experience... and what's crazy is it gets tiresome sometimes. And I'm only three weeks in! Don't get me wrong, I love it! But sometimes your mind throws you curve balls.

After enjoying all the groovy music the hostel owners were playing, and all the animals surrounding the common area of my hostel, I decided to walk into town to see the sunset and get dinner.

The owners and the animals...

IMG_0624.JPG

14 seconds of animals...

On my way out I saw two old bicycles leaning up against a post. The owners are a French couple and it made me think about how many things they must have left in France and what they choose to bring or have shipped here.

As I began my walk down the drive, the owner was arriving on his motor scooter. He called out to me. He told me that I could use one of the bicycles whenever I wanted. This made me so happy, I couldn't believe I suddenly had a bicycle at my disposal.

He told me the island is safe and that I don't have to lock the bike up to anything. "If it's not where you left it, just look around because someone just moved it aside." He said, getting the male frame bicycle out from behind the female frame bike.

So I went off on a short and enjoyable bike ride! Here's what I saw...

People playing tennis on grass tennis courts. This was a big moment for me. This is the first time I've ever seen grass tennis courts in real life, as opposed to tv...

These kids were fishing for something in this pond. They may have been crabbing...

IMG_0633.JPG

Here's a restaurant where you eat in your own gazebo by candlelight above the wetlands....

IMG_0660.JPG

Here's another water buffalo and his little white bird buddy (at his hind legs). The little jerk jumped off the buffalo's back right before I took the picture. If Disney has never made a buddy movie about a water buffalo and the bird that hangs out with him, they need to get on that....

IMG_0639.JPG

A big bad-ass go-kart track.
...
IMG_0647.JPG

A bridge I thought made a couple nice pictures...

IMG_0654.JPG

IMG_0645.JPG

And the beach at sunset....

IMG_0662.JPG

IMG_0676.PNG

!steemitworldmap 6.2897 lat 99.743 long Bike ride Langkawi Malaysia d3scr

Sort:  

Travelman, as always, I really enjoy your writing. And I am so glad you are traveling to places I will probably never go because I am enjoying seeing it through your eyes. I have been trying to upvote you, and I am logged in, and sometimes it seems to increase your $$, and sometimes it doesn't. Can't figure that out, but I am stubborn and not interested in spending precious time studying how steem truly operates. Any advice?

The value of the steem fluctuates. Since you are new, your vote is sometimes worth less than a cent. (I was very excited when I could finally literally put my two cents in!). So as long as it's turns blue, you've upvoted. Also you can "resteem" my stuff. It's like sharing on Facebook. It gives people another chance to see my post in the news feed, if just for a moment before it's washed away in the deluge of other posts. Re steem is the square arrow in the bottom right hand corner of the post (to the left of reply). Glad you're here. Start posting about the trials and tribulations, successes of threadfarm.

Wow what an adventure ! Really the first time ever seen tennis courts ? Thanks for sharing incredible photos 👍

Grass tennis courts. All the tennis courts I've seen in the us are asphalt. And it is an adventure!

A question that sometimes drives me hazy: am I or are the others crazy?

- Albert Einstein

daisyk
WoW! Love IT. Your a terrific writer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41