Travelman in Malaysia: A trip to Batu Caves in Kuala Lumpur

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The group of four new friends quickly grew into seven and I hadn't even finished my morning coffee. Svenya was late getting up, more people decided to join us while we waited for her in the common area. We went to the Batu Caves, it was free and it was awesome. There were seven of us, we ordered two Ubers. It cost us four ringgits each (thirty cents to the dollar).

This statue of the Hindu deity Murugan is 42.7 meters high (140 ft.)

IMG_0852.JPG

Synne had to rent a wrap because women had to be appropriately dressed with legs covered...

IMG_0857.JPG

There were many steps to get up into the Temple.

IMG_0856.JPG

Javier said it was one thousand... Javier exaggerated. I Wikipediaed the place; there are 272 steps. Not bad, at least we weren't carrying sandbags on our our heads....

IMG_0861.JPG

The top of steps and entrance to the cave temple. I wasn't out of breath but I was covered in sweat, as usual, it was hot outside. ("It's hot outside" is literally the wifi password at the hostel).

IMG_0865.JPG

The curators of the temple are building a structure inside the cave. This pile of bricks is outside the cave...

IMG_0869.JPG

These bricks need to get inside the cave, and these brick ain't gonna move themselves. So, brilliantly, the workers hand you a brick to carry inside. Nothing's really free...

IMG_0870.JPG

...I dropped my brick going down the steps and broke it. For a moment I worried if I would be castigated for it. Maybe they'd make me turn around and get another brick, maybe they'd kick me out, maybe they'd arrest me and send me to a Turkish prison. I don't know why they'd send me to a Turkish prison when I'm in Malaysia, but you never know, I don't know the laws here, anything could happen. I'd only broken a corner chunk of it off, I figured I could salvage it and keep going. I'd risk it.

I was fine, I didn't get sent to prison. I didn't even get a stink eye thrown my way. No one noticed. I just had to put the brick on that stack of bricks next to the structure they were building (you can see it in the center of the pic)...

IMG_0872.JPG

The inside of the cave temple was incredible (as you can see). This is the second set of steps inside...

IMG_0876.JPG

IMG_0877.JPG

About 10 seconds of shakey footage....

Monkeys are all over the interior of the temple...

IMG_0890.JPG

IMG_0907.JPG

Unfortunately they try to eat littered newspapers and plastic bags..

IMG_0900.JPG

The top of the cave has a sun roof, spectacular...

IMG_0896.JPG

Here's 33 seconds of a 360 degree view inside. You can spot monkeys scampering about on the walls...

!steemitworldmap 3.2382 lat 101.6812 long BATU CAVES TRIP d3scr
Sort:  

Found you on travel digest. Absolutely brilliant. Following.

Wow! Thank you. Glad you enjoyed. Look forward to getting to know you, you're welcome to keep coming by my page- I am in Asia, so please take your shoes off at the door.

I am in Canada - dress warm!

Spectacular! Enjoy your time @travelman!

The cave seems magnificent and tbh find the brick thing a brilliant idea lol.

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in the Daily Travel Digest Post!

I saw all the posts you added today, and they were really all amazing! Looking forward to reading more!

what a unique way to accomplish moving all those bricks, that is a lot of steps to climb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41