Travelman in Malaysia: A night at a rooftop bar in Kuala Lumpu

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

At the recommendation of Enis, the guy who runs the Step in Too Hostel, a group of us went to a rooftop bar at sunset. The drinks were expensive. You had to buy a drink at the bar inside before they let you go up to the rooftop lounge. Drinks were 30 ringgit. That's about 7.50 American dollars, a lot for a backpacker budget.

IMG_0963.JPG

I felt cool and sophisticated up on the rooftop bar, like a guy that knows people who know people and jumps in his Tesla to jet off to his villa in Spain. Then I remembered I was wearing the same t-shirt and shorts for the past three days and I haven't shaved in four weeks. I was the cosmopolitan backpacker who nurses his one seven dollar drink for two hours. We had some good conversation, and some good drinks. Marvin from Germany drank a fancy cocktail called Jet Fuel, served in a Martini glass. I drank a Long Island.

Sophistication personified...

IMG_0937.JPG

Two Chinese men asked to have their picture taken with Marvin. That's a thing here, especially with the Chinese, they like to take pictures of and with white people. Numerous backpackers have told me stories of people stopping them and asking for a picture. We joked that they should start charging. No one has asked me for a picture yet. I don't know if I should be sad or offended about that. I guess I look too Asian? Or maybe they're intimidated by my stunning good looks, and it's not a thing for them to get pictures of shockingly handsome white people- Yeah, that must be it.

These are the Petronas towers from the roof. The first pic you saw was me in front of the towers at the fountains in front of it. The Prime Minister of Malaysia put Japan and Korea in a competition to build each tower. Korea built one of the Towers and Japan the other. They were in a race to see who could complete theirs first. Korea won. Congratulations Korea. But hey, Korea, remember, slow and steady wins the race.

IMG_0952.JPG

And this is the Kuala Lumpur Tower. There's a 360 degree view restaurant at the top of it. I wonder if it costs more than the 11 ringgits I spent on lunch today.

IMG_0953.JPG

The lights of the tower change colors and flash in fancy ways. That's Marvin drinking his jet fuel and Timon looking debonair...

IMG_0942.JPG

A 12 second 360 spin view...

!steemitworldmap 3.1583 lat 101.7118 long A rooftop view of Kuala Lumpur d3scr

Sort:  

Awesome view! Thanks for the information on the skyline, whenever I visit a new city I am always curious about the history behind the architecture! A seven dollar drink represents a wasted opportunity for budget wine to me usually, in this case I'd be nursing my drink and enjoying the skyline right with ya!

Look at you, all smiling and having the time of your life! Apart from having all these adventures, how do you really feel @travelman? :) Hugs!

Hmm...thought so!

But...I bet something nice is going to happen to you soon! I can feel it :)

It's been so hard. New cool things everyday. I don't know how much more of this I can take.

Welcome to my steemit.Please Follow and vote me -https://steemit.com/@ovronil

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44