TRAVELMAN COLOMBO, SRI LANKA: I Feel Like I’m Paying People to be Nice To Me

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

3641804C-42B1-4D6C-99C7-72CAF8629973.jpeg

My Stay at the Hilton has been great and the company has worked very hard to create an environment that ensures this. Everyone that works here smiles at me and starts a conversation with me. The young housekeeping man introduced himself and shook my hand when I asked for more shower gel. In the restaurant, employees approach and start a conversation. The cooks at the buffet stations smile and ask me how I am. Everyone likes me! I’m so popular here! It must be my charming morning grumpiness at the breakfast buffet that they find so endearing.

They intentionally hire nice people that like being around people. Hotel chains put a lot of money and effort into Human Resources, they find ways to hire the right kind of people. I was once hired into a nice resort. I had to go through many interviews and take a few long customer service and personality tests. I knew what they wanted and I gave it to them, I gamed the system, but people like me don’t last in these positions. I ended up not taking the job.

They brought me this waffle this morning after talking with me. ...then asked me to rate my experience in an email I’ll be receiving. “Ten is the best.” The manager said, smiling.

...Oohh, I get it. It’s all about the rating. Well, no matter, I’m sure they’d be this nice even if their jobs didn’t depend on the ratings. They love me! Look, they gave me a waffle message! Only people that really like me give me messages in breakfast waffle form.

This must be easy to get used to when you’re rich. I bet it messes with your head in a bad way. Your world view is skewed. You’re treated well so often that you become shocked when people don’t message you with breakfast pastries.

Sort:  

Sadly, the last paragraph is so true :)

Although I do believe they liked you. They usually resent you if you seem pretentious or just plain arrogant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97