Amsterdam – My New Favorite City

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Amsterdam. What comes to mind when you hear that name? Coffee shops, red light district, bachelor parties? Think again.

To me, Amsterdam is gravely underrated. Or at least misunderstood.

Sure, the coffee shops, red light district etc. are all part of the picture and underscore the liberal, progressive spirit. But if you thought Amsterdam was just a party city and otherwise not worth a trip, I hope you'll reconsider.

When I think of Amsterdam now, I see a city of bicycles and pedestrians. I see canals lined with beautiful old buildings.

I see my new favorite city – and I hope to return soon.

Church of Saint Nicholas – Sint-Nicolaaskerk
Church of Saint Nicholas – Sint-Nicolaaskerk

Amsterdam De Waag
De Waag at Nieuwmarkt

Amsterdam Munttoren Bell Tower
Munttoren Bell Tower

Amsterdam View from Rembrandt Square to Munttoren
View from Rembrandt Square to Munttoren (Bell Tower)

Amsterdam Beautiful Old Building
Beautiful Old Building

Amsterdam Ice Skating Rink at the Rijksmuseum
Ice Skating Rink at the Rijksmuseum

Amsterdam Stadsschouwburg Theater
Stadsschouwburg Theater

Amsterdam Shopping Street
Shopping Street

Amsterdam Hotel De L'Europe
Hotel De L'Europe

Amsterdam Paradiso Music Venue and Barlaeus School
Music Venue (left), School (right)

Amsterdam Westerkerk Church
Westerkerk – Church next to the Anne Frank House

Amsterdam Central Train Station
Central Station

Amsterdam Canal View
Canal View

Amsterdam Canal View
Canal View

Amsterdam Red Light District Street Art
Street Art in the Red Light District

If you've enjoyed this post, please upvote below. This is my first post on steemit, so every vote counts.

A little bit about me

I grew up in Germany, but I've lived in the US since college. New York City for the past 2.5 years, before that 5 years in San Francisco. I like to travel and take pictures, but my main occupation is building my company leaguelobster.com.

Sort:  

Upvoted! from Amsterdam and blog about it, traveled for four years and post about that as well.
Hope you will enjoy it.
Have fun and hope you do well on the platfrom

Thanks – appreciate it. I'll check out your blog right away 👍

Hello @travelix.
Welcome to steemit. Very nice introduction 😊
If you like to, check my blog @joepike and follow. ✌

Thanks – appreciate it. I'll check it out right now. 🤗

Hey @travelix
Nice to know. I hope you like it.
Enjoy steemit ✌

Ooooh, great posting picture .
i am korean steemian i am following you~

Thank you! I'll be sure to check out your posts as well ✌️

Thank you! Thank you!

Congratulations @travelix, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49