My Visit to La Paz-The Peaceful Side of Mexico

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Looking for a beautiful and affordable relaxing getaway? Look no further!  La Paz is a beautiful and tranquil port in Mexico. It is the capital of Baja California Sur. With only about 220,000 inhabitants this city is a peaceful place to visit and retire. There are many foreigners retiring here or building incredible homes in the beautiful desert mountains or cost of La Paz.  What attracted me to visit is the collection of beautiful beaches La Paz has. I was blown away by the beauty of the beaches that I had to share this with you! I could not believe this amazing place had been so close to me and yet I had not taken advantage of it. It is only about a 2-hour flight from Los Angeles or Tijuana airport. I was able to get a good deal by taking a flight from Tijuana as the cost of the hotel and flight came to be an equivalent of $310 dollars for a 2 night/3-day getaway at one of the best hotels in the area.

The Heart of La Paz

La Paz in an important commercial port for Mexico. It has desert climate with plenty of sunny and hot days throughout the year. It is surrounded by desert, palm trees and beautiful beaches. Eco tourism is the main source of income for La Paz, which is why you see many signs and people selling tours such as kayak, ATV beach tours, snorkel, cruises, swim with whale sharks and island tours. There are a few historic museums such as Museo de la Ballena, which is dedicated to the whale sharks. The center of La Paz is more of the historic area that resembles Spanish architecture. The cathedral is located in the center of the town with many businesses and restaurants surrounding it. The delicious cuisine was a major selling point for me. Considering that this is a port, you will find many sea food options as well as the traditional Mexican dishes all at a very affordable price. A full dinner meal with starters, entrees, alcoholic beverages and dessert for 2 people ranged between $20-$35 dollars.

 

El Malecon

It is located in Paseo Alvaro Obregon, which is the main street that takes you in and out of La Paz. You have the beautiful beaches and piers on the left and bars, restaurants and hotels on the right. This is where people like to go out at night once the heat has gone down is cooler to dine and have some drinks. You can do bar hoping here to try different places as each one has its characteristics and atmosphere. You can also enjoy walks along the malecon and the architecture and statues along this boulevard. Even though the beaches here look beautiful there are very few people in them due to the lack of sand, how rocky they are and that there are mantas in these beaches. Most people prefer to the nicer fine beaches located 15-25 minutes away from the malecon.

With such a big pearl ring who would say no? Lol

The Collection of Fine Beaches in La Paz

The beaches in La Paz are simply breathtaking! The golden sand and clear, calm warm water beaches make La Paz the perfect place to relax and enjoy the views. I am not a very good swimmer and prefer calm waters so I felt in paradise in the beaches here. There are many virgin beaches in La Paz, with no hotels or buildings whatsoever so prepared for this if you are planning to visit one of these beaches, which in my opinion are the most beautiful ones! There are palapa shaded restaurants in the beaches along the main street as well where you can purchase food and drinks while enjoying the beach and sunbathing. You can also do as the locals and take your own cooler with drinks and food to save money and enjoy here. Either way I can assure that you will have a good time and the cost will be affordable.

 Pichilingue, Tesoro, Balandra are just a few beautiful beaches in a Paz.

Costa Baja Resort

I decided to stay at this resort because of its great reviews on trip advisor, amazing views of their beach club, price and location as it is located 10 minutes away from the center. This was the first 5-star hotel in La Paz and provides many commodities and types of rooms including condos. The hotel provides all you need from restaurants, pools, gold course, beach club, gym, bars, transportation to the center and around the huge resort, spa and the beach with activities such as kayak. I highly recommend this resort and the best thing about it is that you can obtain luxury at a great price and be conveniently located to the center and the beaches.

 

Hope you enjoyed this post and stay tune for the food part and tour of Isla Espiritu Santo, which is just amazing!Thank you!

Follow me @travelista for more adventures!

 

 

Sort:  

Seems every post just keeps getting better and better ;) You just got upvoted to the MAX!!!

Thank you @btcupload! I love sharing my travel experiences and hope to keep improving and motivating others to travel as well :)

Such beauty in this. I'm wishing I could take a second holiday this year now :)

I understand as I feel the same way 😁. Hopefully we both get to take another before December!

Ah! Too true. Any plans for your next trip? I'd love to take my family to the North of Norway and watch the northern lights from a glass-roofed igloo. Now that would be amazing! :D

Wow that sounds incredible! I did not know that Norway had this! I have a Caribbean cruise before the end of the year for my birthday, but also contemplating Alaska for the aurora borealis! 😀

That sounds beautiful.

http://www.kakslauttanen.fi/ << this is my goal :)

This is beyond beautiful!!!! It is an actual artic resort and you can see the northern lights too! It's the first time I see something like this! I am adding it to my list now as it is a must to go here! Can't wait to see your pictures from this trip! Thank you for sharing such a beautiful place. This makes me happy 😀

No problem! I thought you'd appreciate it. Ever since I stumbled across the place it's been my next goal lol

Oh my ... this place looks unbelievable. Travelista looks like she is enjoying herself too. Great post.........
:)

Thank you 😀

I love your photos. Reading is still a bit of trouble for me right now but I can take in the photos pretty easily just using my right eye. Makes me feel like going on holiday now!

Thank you! Glad to hear that I can inspire you to take a holiday. Hope your eyes get better @thecryptofiend!

Great blog article! Keep on writing those interesting articles from the paradises you visit :)
Greetings from Germany ;) @travelista

Thank you @simon.braki.love! Happy to see nice poeple from Germany joining! I have family in Bargerg 😊.

Nice place. Someday I would like to visit. Endless pool with the sunset was a nice picture to end with. Thanks @travelista

You will be amazed to see the sunsets at this place @runrudy! Hope you can visit one day.

What a wicked looking place to visit, that last photo looks like total bliss!!

Thanks @crytoiskey! Definitely recommend it!

Now thats a real beauty... hope i could visit the place someday...

You should look look into it! You won't regret it😉. Glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63811.67
ETH 3092.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86