๐ŸŒž Santa Monica ๐ŸŒž

in #travel โ€ข 6 years ago


This was technically my first time in Santa Monica. The last time I was in California I went down to Venice Beach and could see the pier in the distance, but didn't have time to go explore. So when we were planning our trip we booked 3 nights in Santa Monica so that we would fully enjoy it! :)


IMG_5183.JPG


I had totally forgotten how huge the beaches were down here! There's so much going on - bike paths, volleyball nets, workout areas, parking lots, food stands, and of course a giant sandy beach. You'll never have a hard time finding a spot to lay out your towel and suntan. You may not be super close to the water, but there's tons of beach to relax on :)


IMG_5485.JPG

โ†‘
๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜




IMG_5421.JPG


And what's one of the best things about Santa Monica?! THE SUNSETS! We've traveled a lot and have seen so many amazing sunsets, and Santa Monica is definitely up there as one of the best.


IMG_5242.JPG


IMG_5490.JPG


Here are a few tips if you are planning on visiting Santa Monica...

  • Book a hotel in the area if you can! Even though the Metro system in LA is really good (there's a train that goes directly into Santa Monica!), you'll be able to enjoy the area much more if you're staying nearby. Plus, there's so much to see and do that you'll wish you would've stayed in the area.

  • Rent a scooter or bike. We didn't do this but saw SO MANY people on them. They rent for around $7 USD an hour (or $20 USD a day), and can get you from point A to point B in a fraction of the time. Did I mention that the scooters are motorized?? You'll get to Venice Beach in 5 minutes!

  • Walk the Third Street Promenade. If you like shopping (like me!) then this is where you want to be. Our credit card definitely took a hit when we went here. ๐Ÿ˜ณ

  • Ride the Ferris Wheel on the pier. I know this sounds like a no brainer, but just make sure you do it! I'm terrified, and I mean TERRIFIED of heights, but I made sure to do it. I had my eyes closed for most of the ride, but when I did open them the view was incredible! :) $10 USD per person.


    IMG_7737.JPG


    IMG_7747.JPG

    โ†‘
    TERRIFIED OF HEIGHTS


    Thanks for reading and happy travels!

    Jen ๐Ÿท
    upvotegif2.gif

Sort: ย 

I like it very much, keep it that way.
I will be looking more often

Santa monica seema like an amazing place to visit. I'll add it to my list of dream locations. Thanks for allowing us enjoy the experience from your eyes...

Did a road trip up the cali coast and missed santa monica! :( I need to go back now haha thank you for sharing

santa Monica, one of the best places, to walk, and enjoy with family or company that perosana you want, the most beautiful of santa monica are its sunsets, has no other comparison, if afternoons are something romantic @travelingsomm

Santa Monica is always a favorite of mine in California. I could easily see myself living in a small beach house close by for the rest of my days. The big beaches also stuck out to me my first time because I grew up on the East coast where the sand real estate is tiny in comparison.

Oh you where brave! Good to overcome your fears in this way. There always needs to be some kind of a reward and a great view is the best reward I think. I'm proud of you ๐Ÿ‘ Maybe another 'reward' you got a new follower ๐Ÿคฃ

que lugares tan bellos...

Santa Monica is beautiful (haven't been there in 20 plus years). Thanks for sharing!

What beautiful pictures, beautiful landscapes, how rich you can enjoy a mini vacation and

I live here... Thank you for your note!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72