Adventures In Greece: #DiscoverSyros

in #travel7 years ago

A lot of people have asked me why I decided to do a project that actually requires me too work my ass off instead of one where everything is done for me. The #DiscoverSyros project is all about my passion for an island that my mother was from.

It was also an opportunity for me to test my instincts with content creators and bringing the right mix of people together on a campaign. Were there things I would change? Sure. That's what makes it all interesting and when you look back on stupid things you would do differently, make you laugh. 

If you are interested in the backstory... It's HERE on my personal blog. Why I chose this particular island and what I hope to accomplish. 

We knew we needed to arrive early because even with the best planning there will always be things out of your control. 

Myself, One of my partners on this venture Radu Risnoveau and our friend Foodie Flashpacker, Nathan Aguilera.

We sailed on Blue Star Ferries from the Port of Piraeus to Syros about six days before the event to get acclimated to the city and to check logistics/make adjustments wherever necessary.  

When we arrived we were immediately met and whisked away to our home for the next five days, a small hotel (in the seaside village of Galissas)  Ventoura Studios and Apartments. 

Upon arrival this small property looks charming and very Greek. A pleasant surprise for those looking to get an authentic feel for the islands. What you don't see immediately is the Jacuzzi and Sauna two features that ended up being very important to our little group. 

So this was our start... We have a lot more days and adventures to share.

Sort:  

Well, as you know from our msgs, I completely have missed your blog updates on travel LOL.

Dang it.

Great info and pics here but where is the one I wanted to see with you in the little church in the cliff / rocks??

(:

I never made it! I sent my friends! :)

Aw man!

LOL

At least you know I care LOL

Happy I could be a part of it!

Congratulations @travelinggreek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Syros is an amazing island. I just discovered it myself!

Great post and I enjoyed these pictures!

Thank You!

Congratulations @travelinggreek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Greece is my dream destination! :) PS. Congrats on being featured on Steemit's twitter

Thanks!! :)

Have been on Syros this summer, great athmosphere!

That's great!!

These shots are incredible! I would love to visit Greece someday

You should! Each Island is completely different ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88