Australia travel part 7- The Great Ocean Road

in #travel6 years ago

12B3E3DC-AD0F-4181-A4F7-79E69718E303.jpeg

My final day in Australia before heading home I am on my way to experience one of the most iconic coastal roads in the world, The Great Ocean Road. The Great Ocean Road is just outside of Melbourne and stretches along Australia’s southern Victoria coastline. I headed out with Go-West tours once again for their Sunset Ocean Road tour.

With stops at oceanside beach towns, looking for Australian wildlife, and the iconic Loch Ard Gorge and Twelve Apostles. My tour guide for the day, Joel noticed when checking the group in that I was traveling solo and offered up the front seat of the van for the journey which I happily accepted. Hoping that once again the weather would cooperate for a nice day, we started out.

The first stop was to grab a picture at the official starting point of Great Ocean Road, the Memorial Arch. Built in memorial of those service members who built the Great Ocean Road after returning from service of WWI.

9EB231C1-8F01-463C-B32A-53B53FBA8765.jpeg

B62D1D81-509B-4EF3-A967-E5983782A4B1.jpeg

Unfortunately, the weather was still not being as friendly, and grabbing the front seat of the van was paying off. Our windows were fogging up and the views were often non existent because of the rainfall along the coast. Having the view from the front seat, I was likely one of the only ones in the van who had any views throughout most of the day. We stopped at a great beach city called Lorne for lunch but, what a surprise, the rain continued.

591C9835-A2F3-4E11-9793-F56418A1B909.jpeg

Next we made a stop was at a small roadside store for a chance to stretch our legs, and search for native wildlife in the trees! These cockatoos were enjoying the tourists feeding them. One decided to land on my head, until it realized I didn’t have any treats for him.

9EB70444-820C-47FA-B3F1-A273A88A4D42.jpeg

This Koala didn’t look too thrilled being in the rain.

C0344164-89C6-4DAC-BD3F-316A8DF405B4.jpeg

A section of the Ocean Road cuts inland a bit and through rolling hills and the rainforest. The rain continued throughout our journey but made for some cool and eerie fog on the drive through the trees and valleys.

9A4FF150-7138-4D93-A7F4-B33118E7C010.jpeg

Our guide Joel was a friendly and fun guy and I enjoyed speaking with him throughout the drive and day. As a traveler himself, we compared stories of our travels for hours. He has spent time in the US and in areas that are ‘home’ for me. We talked about our favorite spots and spots that are still on our list to explore.

The weather decided to ease just enough for our final stops of the day. After talking With Joel, I was extremely thankful for booking the sunset tour. Most tour groups hit the most iconic and popular sights of the Ocean Road Much earlier in the day, leaving the spots completely open for our tour group. We were the only ones at the lookouts!

People often talk about having a place ‘take your breath away’, but nothing prepared me for the views of Loch Ard Gorge and the Twelve Apostles. This stretch of the Great Ocean Road is known as shipwreck coast due to the many shipwrecks that have occurred along the waters here.

One of the more famous stories comes from Loch Ard Gorge. A ship wrecked just off the coast with only two survivors. A young man, who survived the wreck, risked his life to rescue a young lady he heard screaming in the water. They took shelter in a cave in Loch Ard Gorge until the morning when he had to scale the cliffs to find help.

D0362284-A5BC-4087-9E9D-2242BF2D5B22.jpeg

We arrived at the final spot, the Twelve Apostles, just before what was due to be the time for sunset.

5106636A-0AB6-46AF-8593-DDB90BAF7A7A.jpeg

As we walked out to the lookout, the sun just started to peak through the clouds in the distance. I was not prepared for the absolute awe I felt as this stunning view came into sight. Pictures truly do not do this extraordinary place justice.

DA341F7B-E421-4E71-9F31-9487C776E3AA.jpeg

EC183581-374B-4B9E-A8B7-66EED1A07574.jpeg

1A6B1765-5EDF-4DA8-B8DE-3A890E9C3112.jpeg

As the sun began to set and the colors changed from reds and pinks to blues and purples, we were greeted with an extra treat. Just like Phillips Island, a group of Little Penguins call the Twelve Apostles home. We were lucky enough to catch glimpses of them as they made their way home for the night along the beaches below.

5724DD48-364E-4E85-9C5B-0F970802A458.jpeg

As we got ready to get back in the van and make the 2.5 hour trip back to Melbourne I couldn’t help but reflect on the absolute wonder I felt with the remarkable beauty of Australia. Even with weather not really cooperating for my time in Melbourne, the extraordinary beauty left me breathless.

Boarding the flight back the next morning was harder then I thought it would be. I left a part of my soul in Australia, but I’ll be back soon. The people, animals, and utter astonishing beauty of this country will be calling to me until I do.

Until next time Australia.

8E915B25-3E12-4A6C-AC93-3C4C7B0149D7.jpeg

Thank you for following my adventures. I have so many more locations to show you!

Up next: Hawaii. Aloha and Mahalo!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @travelin-girl to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Gorgeous, and wonderful advice taking the sunset tour instead of the day tour! Australia (and that area specifically) is definitely on our bucket list! What islands in Hawaii will you be visiting?

I’ve done a few Hawaii trips but the islands I’ll be posting on will be Big Island, Maui, and Oahu.

Very cool, can't wait to see!

how beautiful all the nature you came across. And the sea is lovely

Australia truly is stunning with its natural wonders!

Beautiful! I loved the great ocean road and the apostles when I visited, it is quite the dreamy coastline! Hope to go back some day :) beautiful shots!

It will definitely be on my list to return to as well! Especially in hopes for some better weather to enjoy it with!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelin-girl
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=australia-travel-part-7-the-great-ocean-road


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Wow such gorgeous views there..Can't wait to visit Australia next year!!!

You have so much to look forward to! It truly is an amazing place! Enjoy

One of the most attractive area in Victoria but my favorite is Wilson Promontory National park have you been there?

I haven’t! I’ll have to add it to my list for next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85