Australia Travel part 1! Legendary surprise!

in #travel7 years ago

7146F0D5-62D7-44A6-BB2A-873CE87C00BD.jpeg

I just returned home Sunday from an amazing trip to the beautiful land down under, Australia. As a travel professional, I am extremely lucky to have amazing friends from all over the world. As the planning for this trip started to take form, I reached out to a dear friend, Gemma (https://steemit.com/@vegoutt-travel) to join me for part of the adventure. Gemma and I worked together years ago on a Cruise Ship in the middle of the Caribbean. She now calls Australia home yearround so I thought this would be the perfect excuse to see each other on her side of the world.

In 2014, I was lucky enough to be sailing on a cruise ship that had a home port of Sydney. I saw countless amazing spots around the South Pacific and had time to explore Sydney and Melbourne while on that contract but had so much more around the beautiful country that I wanted to explore then my limited time in ports gave me while on that contract. One of my favorite destinations I explored while there, was Tasmania.

I came across a great travel site which helped me score an amazing deal on my flights to Australia. If you are looking for some good deals, make sure to check out momondo.com.

As the planning for my most recent trip took place, I plotted to pull off the most Legendary surprise that I could come up with. My best friend, Bernie, is currently on another ship out of Sydney. What better excuse to re-explore a destination that I was completely in love with AND pull off a surprise of a lifetime for my best friend then to jump on a cruise with him back down to Tasmania? So that is just what Gemma and I did. Months of planning was worth every second of the shock and surprise on his face as we came running down the aisles of the theatre onboard the ship. He truly had no clue and did not expect to see the faces of Gemma and me right there in front of him.

If you have never cruised before, I highly suggest it for the convience. No other vacation offers you a chance to unpack, see multiple locations, and be fed like a King or Queen. We opted for a balcony cabin to be able to enjoy the beautiful sail out/in of Sydney Harbor and Tasmania. For most people, I suggest a basic cabin for their first cruise as you often do not spend much time in cabin. Cruise ships are known for their entertainment. Be sure to take advantage of all the offerings around the ship such as Vegas style production shows with singers and dancers, comedy shows, deck parties under the stars, trivia’s and games. While your food is included in your fare, many ships offer specialty dining such as sushi or steakhouse dinners. I highly suggest taking at least one night of the cruise to upgrade your dining experience to one of these. It is well worth the extra fee.

In my next post, I will break down some of the locations we explored on the cruise, as well as my solo adventures around Australia after! Upcoming will include Hobart, Port Arthur, Sydney, Blue Mountains, Philips Island (and their famous Penguin Parade!), and the Great Ocean Road! Stay tuned!

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @travelin-girl to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

thanks @OriginalWorks to support others;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Great post, worked on Cruise ships for a year aswell! interesting

Ahh and it was just an amazing legendary trip and surprise, I’m so incredibly lucky to have you Jess and Bernie as dear friends. Trip of a lifetime with friends who are family that I’ll cherish forever. Cheers to our next adventure 🥂

nice traveling place

Glad you had a good time with your friends. Looking forward to reading about more of your adventures. :) Ps Gemma is a pretty cool travelling buddy hey? @vegoutt-travel ;)

Congratulations @travelin-girl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43