Travel With Me! → MYANMAR! A Detailed Look Into My Month Long Trip!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

TRAVEL WITH ME TO MYANMAR!

PSX_20170519_201151.jpg

Hello everyone!! I have been to every country in the Southeast Asia region as well as multiple other Asian countries and I can say this with great confidence...

Myanmar is a wonderland. Not only is the country beautiful from North to South, East to West, but is also a genuinely pure and authentic travel experience! It's not like Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, etc where their culture takes a backseat in some areas and catering for tourists is a priority.

Wandering around Myanmar gives you a genuine experience of being and EXISTING in a new culture.
The locals are humble, kind, giving, accepting and welcoming! I never once felt in danger or unwanted!

IMG_20170521_161536_053.jpg
When I was exploring Su Taung Pyae Pagoda on top of Mandalay Hill, 3 locals, 2 girls and a guy all asked to take photos with me! As you can see, this girl is wearing some of the local attire and facepaint/sun screen (Thanaka). They were all so shy and could barely speak English but we had fun taking photos!

Here are some more shots of Su Taung Pyae!
DSC03395.JPG
Such incredible design!
DSC03391.JPG
This is one of my favourite places in Mandalay!
PSX_20170521_191256.jpg

My itinerary for travelling this country was completely open. I had researched a few top places of interest but my main tactic was to just ask the locals

"Where do you recommend for me to visit?" - This is the best way to travel. Locals always know the best places and usually you can't find them in some Lonely Planet book or blog post!

So this is where I went:

Mandalay
Inwa
Bagan
Inle Lake
Yangon
Kin Pun

MANDALAY

I flew into Mandalay and was immediately sweating! Temperature averaged 38 Degrees Celsius for the 5 days I was there! Madness!

I hired a motorbike and went exploring!

Kuthodaw Pagoda!
IMG_20170525_234013_177.jpg

DSC03337.JPG

There are hundreds of these white pagodas!

PSX_20170521_190933.jpg

A great thing about this place is that it's not only tourists who visit! In fact, I barely saw any western tourists at all! Just locals, sitting around, eating, laughing, it was amazing!

The Mandalay Royal Palace!

This place is absolutely HUGE. you could easily take half a take to explore this area corner to corner. It's stunning!

PSX_20170519_232416.jpg

The complexity of these buildings are astounding!

PSX_20170521_190651.jpg

And especially on a beautiful blue sky day! I was definitely sweating when I was walking around here!

PSX_20170523_180235.jpg

PSX_20170521_190415.jpg

While in Mandalay, I drove down south to the ancient cities of Inn Wa (Inwa) and Sagaing!

It's a long drive on a motorbike but the views along the way are incredible and the ancient cities are out of this world!!

Take a look!

PSX_20170524_180652.jpg
This is a view of Sagaing. Pagodas pop up from everywhere, beautiful!!

DSC03662.JPG
A huge golden Buddha standing tall in one of the hundreds of temples!

Soon U Ponya Shin Pagoda is one of the highlights for me!

DSC03677.JPG

DSC03696.JPG

After Mandalay I visited the hugely famous BAGAN!

Probably my most anticipated place to visit at that point because of it's growing popularity on social media at the time!

The main thing to do in Bagan is wake up before sunrise, head to a pagoda and wait for the sun to rise over the rest of the 2,000 pagodas and temples!

that's right... 2000!!

In it's day, Bagan was host to 10,000 pagodas but due to damage from earthquakes, heavy rain and time itself, the majority of the pagodas have become rubble! :( I'm just thankful there are still some left and hope that they stand for many more years!

PSX_20170531_231820.jpg

This was the best sunrise by far! I woke up at 4am to get this shot!

IMG_20170605_104909_641.jpg

This is the view from the famous Shwesandaw Pagoda. This is the main place where all the tour buses are dropped off so it's get pretty crowded here around sunset! I'd recommend avoiding this place!

PSX_20170602_184305.jpg

This small one was my favourite! It was hard to find which meant most of the time we were alone and away from the other tourists!

DSC03985.JPG

This photo is a good example of how the structures have been damaged over time! One of the smaller pagodas is slightly at an angle!

PSX_20170602_183134.jpg

Here's me inside the HUGE Dhammayan Gyi Temple!

PSX_20170602_184004.jpg

The easy way to get around Bagan! Hire an E-bike and zoom around town!

DSC04057.JPG

Another way to traverse through Bagan is by horse and cart! Sometimes even by BULL AND CART!

DSC04067.JPG

A delicacy in Myanmar... Tea Leaf Salad. It tastes pretty good but leaves you with tea leaves in your teeth!

After Bagan, I travelled to the centre of the country to....

INLE LAKE

ahhhh this is my favourite place in Myanmar! Beautiful scenery in every direction!

As you can probably tell, there's a lake here! But that's not the main attraction.. seeing as the lake itself isn't that great. The attractions, however, are the small villages that are based around the lake! They all offer different and unique things!

For example, you can do to one village and have stunning material woven by women from Long Neck tribes. or have jewellery hand made in front of you from silver.

There's also large Pagodas to stop off at and explore.

PSX_20170602_183424.jpg

Long boats like this travel between villages around the lake, carrying everything from tourists, fruit and veg, materials, etc.

You have to hire a personal boat driver to take you around!

PSX_20170602_183604.jpg

PSX_20170602_190621.jpg

This is a beautiful women from a tribe called the Padaung Tribe (Win Yadanar Kayan). They travel from their nearby village to work on Inle Lake. She didn't speak English, none of them do, but she had a gorgeous smile!

I learned that the women start 'stretching' their bodies with weighted rings from childhood. Take a look!

DSC04355.JPG

PSX_20170602_185013.jpg

This is Shwe Inn Dein Pagoda, also just called 'Dein Pagoda'. Your boat driver will drive upstream into a small village at the foot of a hill. Walk up the hill and you will find this temple!

It's brimming with golden pagodas!

This is a view of the Floating Gardens along the West side of Inle Lake. Farmers stay in these huts and farm the land around it!
PSX_20170604_110544.jpg

The best place to eat in Inle Lake is 'Ever Light Indian Cuisine'. The owner, Raj, moved here with his family a few years ago and his food is the best!!

DSC04494.JPG

DSC04478.JPG

YANGON

After Inle Lake I headed for Yangon! Home of the Shwedagon Pagoda. The tallest pagoda in the world! 101ft tall!

IMG_20170602_182338_580.jpg

I love this shot! 3 monks standing in front of the pagoda just talking.

DSC04607.JPG

To get to the pagoda you have to walk up this walkway, or one of the 3 others situated on each side!

DSC04618.JPG

DSC04603.JPG

IMG_20170606_144547_516.jpg

If you want some peace and quiet in the city.. head to Bogyoke Park / Kandawgyi Lake. It's huge and you can walk all the way around it!

Lastly on my trip to Myanmar I visited Kin Pun! ]

Kinpun is a small mountainous in the South East near the Thai border!

There's only one reason to come to this town...

IMG_20170605_104759_406.jpg

Kyaiktiyo Pagoda or 'Golden Rock'.

This spectacle is at the top of a mountain and you have to get a truck ride up there! You are literally above the clouds are on a clear day it's incredible!

Unfortunately for me it rained the entire time and I just about managed to get this cool shot of the Golden Rock!

Legend has it that this gravity-defying boulder is being held in place by a single strand of Buddha's hair.

Only men are allowed close to it and touch it.

Despite this rock being the only reason to be in this town, I ended up staying 5 days... not by choice... but because I got extremely sick from eating some unclean food! Oops!

PSX_20170523_180650.jpg

So that's it!

I hope you've enjoyed seeing how beautiful Myanmar is!

Got a question? Leave it in the comments below! ↓

If I've inspired you, be sure to upvote and resteem this post and follow me for more!

Want to see more from my travels? Follow me on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/travel_gasm/

Also, check out my personal travel website Becometheatlas.com for my tips on how to travel cheaper and longer!

Finally, here's a YouTube video I made from this trip!

Sort:  

great snaps! Looks like you've had an amazing time. Wish I had the funds/time to go on epic journeys like this.

Thank you so much! It was a great country to explore.

It's a shame about your time/funds. Try your best to save every penny you can.. don't waste money on needless things! Travelling the world is better than any object you can buy!

Warmly Welcome to our Country MYANMAR.

Great travel post and pictures.The Sunrise really does look amazing. Overall this was an interesting article with some beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah Bagan sunrises are a great reason to wake up early! I was so tired after ! haha worth it. You're welcome!

Yap, It really was worth, I agree. :)

Amazing shots brother. I too will be traveling in that direction soon. Much love.

Thanks mate! I'm very proud of some of the photos in this post! as well as my other posts! Enjoy Myanmar, try not to get food poisoning! :)

Love reading your posts! Amazing photography. I really want to go there, Bagan is on my bucket list.

Thanks Karlie! That means a lot, I appreciate the support! Bagan is a great experience but I recommend going in the hottest period of the year. You will melt but it's worth it because there are fewer tourists there!

Wow, Myanmar is definitely a place that I have to visit ^^ I have already read some trip reports and reviews of this place on Steemit, so I have promised myself, that I definitely have to go there as it really seems like an extremely beautiful place. Thanks for sharing this video and amazing photos! Good luck with your travelling and thanks for dropping many cool info, that I will definitely need on my soon-to-start travelling road !

Yep you should definitely visit when you get the chance! It's incredible.

You're welcome for the video and photos, my pleasure! Hope you have fun travelling and exploring the world! :)

Beautiful post! I should visit Myanmar someday maybe :) You have my support ;) Also, I would really appreciate if you could check out my profile :)

Thanks a lot! I followed you :)

WOW! I will definitely be subscribing to see more of your youtube videos! Thank you for this great post @travelgasm.

Thank you so much! I appreciate any support on any of my social medias! :)

Some awesome photos! Next time I'm around there for sure.

Great! Hope you manage to see some of the country if you get the chance!

Thank You for supporting our Myanmar 😘
Love you

Thank you for welcoming me to your country!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34