Sort:  

Thank you. I'm flying a DJI Mavic Air.

Awesome! I’ve been tempted to get one but with all the regulations I’m just not sure it’s worth it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like to think it's worth it. Some regs are downright stupid and I ignore them when safely possible. Others make good sense. To get an idea for your country, have a look at the "Air Map" app. Might help with the buying decision. Good luck.

I’ve looked at the regs when I was in Boston and due to the airport location my whole area was off limits and closely monitored supposedly. It might be different here in Australia though

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, if there are airports all over the place... You can't ignore that. On the upside, a small device like the Mavic Air isn't a big investment and travels extremely well, to places away from the airports.

BTW, some distance from an airport (a mile or so) you can safely fly, albeit with a height restriction of about 150 feet. Still makes for great footage. It can be a creative challenge, but utilizing "pockets of permission" is also great fun. Many French cities are like that. No flying over the entire city, except in one particular park.

When I was talking about "ignoring" I meant BS regs like here in Germany, where the flight over any powerline or navigable rivers (ship traffic or not) is forbidden. Screw that!

Yea, we have the same thing in the U.S. You technically can’t fly over a crowd but what constitutes a crowd

Posted using Partiko iOS

Same here. A crowd is any number of people filling a space I want to fly over so densly, they hardly have any room to move out of each other's way. Could be 20 or 30 people in a passageway, or 20,000 in a stadium.

I use common sense and ask myself what might happen if my drone fails and falls out the sky. So the stadium shot might be good enough from the parking lot. Why risk the stands?

Very true. That said if a drone drops from the sky what it hits is all down to luck. No way people are looking up for falling stuff

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38