The Desert Driver

in #travel7 years ago

I'd had 2 5 hour energy shots, 3 rockstar energy drinks and a few sodas. My caffeine intake was at an all time high yet my mind still drifted in and out of consciousness. Somewhere between alive and dead, awake and asleep I existed as The Desert Driver.

IMG_6029.JPG

The road bended and curved but outside the roadway little proof of humanity existed. The landscape stretching out before me was alien and vast but it quickly became mundane. The 26 hour drive from Chicago had long since been realized as madness. Yet with an epic weekend in Vegas ahead I had no option but to speed onward! Like Vegas I to had become a shinning example of mankinds perserverence in the face of ignorance.

IMG_6065.JPG

As the mountains opened to desert I'd long forgotten the speed limit buzzing by barren outcrops at a bare minimum of 90 miles per hour. Often times reaching speeds of 120. Given the right elavation my rental car would brief take air crashing back down in a jarring reminder of my own mortality.

IMG_6037.JPG

What little humanity I found be was not that which I wished to find. Barren gas stations staffed by weary loners, truckers feverishly pushing past their limit yet again, and wayward wanderers lost on the great American highway.

IMG_6034.JPG

Sometimes, however, something far more sinister would appear. A lone town with "GOD LIVES HERE " signs, Jesus camps with not a town for 100 miles and blown out husks of campers and towns. Surely those pushed to the outskirts of society were not of morality's graces.

IMG_6057.JPG

With vigor I pushed on. Night slowly fell and then gave way to day but the desert streched on. I'd brought no supplies, my phone had long since lost itself and with growing concern I realized just how bad a broken car could be. Slowly the forgotten cars and husks became more ominous.

IMG_6043.JPG

Then like a glimmer of hope in the clutches of despair I saw another car fly forth into the abyss. A sign read "Las Vegas 200 miles". I was saved. Life could go on and the bachelor party could begin!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing :) I know the feeling of long days on the road - I actually enjoy (or tell myself I do) the fried feeling of mechanized teleportation.

Did you take I70 thru UTAH?

I took i70 on the way there I believe. I usually just follow the GPS so I could be wrong.

Yea, you did I can tell by your pictures.

The picture right before "What little humanity I found be was not that which I wished to find. " is an uplift in southern Utah known as THE CAPITOL REEF / Grand Staircase Escalante. The uplift is one of my favorite sights in the whole world, I can see geology in motion there. Also you can see this uplift on any flight from Las Vegas to Salt Lake City.

Cool! Thanks for that fun fact :)

Thanks for sharing this. I always enjoy reading posts where people share their artwork as well as seeing the progress from start to finished product. @travelersmemoire

Thanks! I tried my best to convey the drive :)

Congratulations @travelersmemoire! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56