13.06.2017 Vietnam, Ninh Bình

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

If you have ever stayed in a hostel, you know about the discussion around the airconditioning. Some like the aircon set at room temperature, a few degrees difference from outside. Some like to set the aircon to the freezing point. And there are people who don't like to use the aircon at all, like me.

Unfortunately for me, last night I shared the room with those who like to set the aircon to the temperature of a Siberian winter, forcing me to wear a sweater (IN ASIA) to bed.
However, when I wake up it is incredibly hot! Apparently, we got a power blackout and the room is at a boiling point and I am still wearing my sweater...

_MG_9135-01.jpeg

I'll start the day exploring at Tràng An, very similar to yesterday, you can visit Tràng An in a small wooden boat guided by a 50+ Vietnamese lady and enjoy the incredible scenery of Ninh Bình. Total price: 200.000 Vietnamese Dong (which is about €8. I am a little embarrassed to admit that I thought this was a lot of money for Vietnam, but I didn't know the entire trip would take 2.5 hours).

Since I am a solo traveller and have arrived alone at Tràng An, I get placed in a boat with a Vietnamese family, the rest of their family is in the other boat. The usual, but always entertaining, photoshoot with peace sign fingers follows from both boats.

IMG-20180616-WA0006-01.jpeg

To help our guide, as mentioned earlier the 50+ Vietnamese lady who is rowing, we all grab a peddle. We stop at a beautiful temple, with admiration I look at the family from my boat placing incense sticks and pray, when someone taps me on the shoulder. A Vietnamese family asks for a picture together, no problem, only now all the Vietnamese families want to take a snap together. Causing me to be the last person to get back into the boat... Pardon me.

_MG_9197-01.jpeg

Tràng An offers not only a breathtaking landscape, with cute little boats making the scene very photogenic. You can find as well the remains from the movie set of Kong: Skull Island. The little boat docks at one side, allowing you to cross through the movie set and pick you up from the other side. Especially, the Vietnamese grandma's from my boat-family are eager to take a few pics with me on the set. To my surprise: Why here from all the pretty spots we've been today?

This was our last stop in Tràng An, it has been a fun 2.5 hours, and I'm sad to say goodbye to the friendly family, we exchange Facebook and they wave at me while I drive away with my motorbike.

_MG_9229-01.jpeg

Today it seems to be even more humid than other days, as well it's very foggy. Back on the motorbike when I catch a fresh breeze it feels like heaven. Next on my must-see list is Bái Đính temple, from far you can already see the main tower and I embrace the refreshing ride to get there. Once I've arrived at the temple and parked my motorbike, I can purchase a ticket for 60.000 Vietnamese Dong (€3) for an electric train which will take you to the top of the hill. Stubborn as I am, I want to save myself the money and walk up the hill, how much of a hike can it be anyway?

Wrong question. How hot and humid can it be? While walking up the hill I start to question my decision, I'm sweating everywhere. On top of the hill, I hide in the shade on a bench catching my breath and wait for my face to turn pink again instead of tomato red. When I'm recovered I explore the magnificent temple complex, the ornaments and details are amazing and I can't stop taking pictures.

_MG_9239-01.jpeg

Back at the homestay, Irish Mickey asks if I've already been to Hang Múa, a temple on top of a limestone mountain, which you can reach by its 500 steps. I'm in an exploring mood today so off we go on our motorbikes to the temple. The 500 steps are a perfect example of false marketing, some of the steps feel more like 3 in 1! The view from the top is completely worth it, and even tho there is fog and the pictures don't do Hang Múa any justice I wanted to share them with you!

_MG_9287-01.jpeg

_MG_9286-01.jpeg

#travelfeed

Sort:  

Upvoted! my fellow Dutchie, just looked at your account and decided to follow.
Saw this post because of my friend travelfeed, keep sharing with us.

I traveled for four years and am back in Amsterdam for now, thinking about what's next for me.
have a good one

Haha, zo zie je nooit Nederlanders op Steemit en dan opeens een hele boel op een dag!

4 jaar! Hoe? Wat? Waar? Ik ben net over de 3 jaar grens heen, kijken of ik de 4 jaar kan evenaren!

hoop dat het lukt, reis zolang je kan! ik heb 6 maanden door Azie gereisd daarna een jaar in Austalie gewoond, bijna 2 in Canada en als laatst een jaar op Cruise-shepen gewerkt.

Heel gaaf! Momenteel werk ik in Malta, mijn reis potje even aanvetten...

Nice! succes! keep sharing

There is some cuteness in the way you shares the story ..... Good write up with some excellent snaps as usual....

Thank you @angelro for the support!

You are welcome dear...Hope your days are good....

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

It looks super humid. We loved how they used their feet to motor the boat:

For 91 Days GIF-downsized_large.gif

Oh, humid it was! We helped to peddle the lady, we felt a little bad for her having to row four adults, haha, it was so hot!
The women who row must have abs of steel!

Great photos. I am also a travel blogger. My girlfriend and I travel soon to Vietnam. Perhaps we can meet up for a Pho

Awesome still looking to go to Vietnam hopefully in the next year here. Looks incredible.. and I know your pain with the hostel life. It's an absolute dream when you just get some somewhat normal people in your room with you haha.

Hahaha, oh hostel life. Love it and admire it...

Highly recommend you to go, if you decide to go hit me up for any recommendations etc!

good snaps! keep posting some good contents...

Wonderful pictures of a fantastic country!

This post has received a 0.09 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @traveleranna.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54554.44
ETH 2294.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31