Hitchhiking 1200km from Sweden to Germany: part 3

in #travel7 years ago

Now I am chatting with the CEO (who is also a rock star) of a Swedish construction company, and it turns out that the lift to Germany (or a music festival in the Netherlands) that I had hoped for...

...is not gonna happen.

sweden-1.jpg
More Swedish wilderness

So how am I going to make it back to Berlin? Swedish drivers have proven to be none too fond of hitchhikers.

Not to wory, my host (the CEO) says... he knows a better way.

One of the guys who runs a corporate coffee supply company in his building is driving down to Helsingborg the next day.

In a large motorhome.

And would probably be overjoyed to have some company on the long trip.

Win!

Now my host is leaving for the Netherlands that day (today) so I can't stay at his place.

But, in the back of his company's office they have a day bed for workers.

As well as a full shower and locker room.

So I am welcome to stay there for the night.

He even gives me a giant glass of fresh local Swedish honey to take with me.

I thank him profusely and assure him that his office will be safely guarded with me there as the impromptu night watchman, except for the parts when I am sleeping on the job of course.

(I would make a terrible night watchman.)

Fortunately the night passes without incident and the next morning I meet up with my new lift, the corporate coffee connoisseur.

He's taking a brief vacation to go see his daughter perform at the very south of Sweden, in Helsingborg.

And, since I am trying to get to Germany -- which will take me through Denmark -- that's perfect. Helsingborg is one of the major crossing points from Denmark to Sweden.

The other thing is, this man is a very successful coffee salesman.

So where hitchhiking often means squeezing into cramped, dirty, junk-filled sedans with tattooed guys (whose muscles mean they are not paranoid about personal security or dangers from hitchhikers) ...

...this time I am going first class.

Cruising shotgun in an RV that is all while leather, all new, and about as comfortable as you can possibly make a motorhome.

And we are doing it for not a short lift of ten or fifty kilometers, but all 350-plus kilometers down to Helsingborg.

Hell yes!

And all the while I get to learn the ins-and-outs of the (more interesting than it sounds) corporate coffee delivery business from a good-time-loving former-salesman-turned-entrepreneur who wants nothing more than to practice his English.

Which I am more than happy to help him with, seeing as I don't speak any Swedish.

(Except, of course, for "fika.")

Several hours of smooth Swedish highway and a brief lunch break later, I extricate myself from the warm embrace of the leather co-pilot seat and grab my backpack from the back.

The coffee entrepreneur leaves me at the Helsingborg ferry terminal, with a smile and a wave, no doubt wondering where I got the crazy idea to travel from Sweden to Berlin without spending any money.

But I've got some successful lifts behind me, a big fat sharpie in my pocket, and a big piece of cardboard that I borrowed from the rockstar-turned-construction-CEO.

How hard could the rest be?

Hahahahaha... famous last words...

(What happened next ... will be posted soon ... follow me @traveladdict so you don't miss it)

Sort:  

Sounds like a nice lift experience! I've hitchhiked a lot in Sweden but now when I always travel with my family it just doesn't work. Who would be able to pick up a family of 5 and fit them and their stuff in the car?

Thanks! Yeah, families make it hard.

Großartig, mein Freund! (resteemed)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post received a 0.12 % upvote thanks to @traveladdict . Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62604.24
ETH 3437.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50