The Backpack Girl #13 - Norbulingka Institute, Dharamshala (Part II)

in #travel6 years ago

Wow!! I loved the response that I got in the part I of this post that I posted yesterday. I am really happy and so grateful to all of you who took time to read and comment on my post from yesterday. That really motivated me. So, thank you :)

Today I am going to be doing a second part of that post where I share some more photos of the Norbulingka Institute with you guys. As I said yesterday, this place is so beautiful and that it is a feast for the eyes and so, I have a lot more pictures for today as well.

As you might know, Buddhism has a huge influence in the Tibetan culture. Actually after its introduction, it slowly adopted its own form influenced by the Bön tradition and other local beliefs. This was clearly reflected in the many paintings, canvases, wall arts, engravings, that adorned the place.

0.jpg

As soon as you cross that entrance of the building, you are sure to notice a kind of a change in energy. As you know, Buddhism is always associated with peace and it is exactly how I felt once I was inside those doors. I felt a wave of serenity wash over me.

1.jpg

I also loved how each of these buildings were designed. In a day and age where all buildings are so similar in shape and size, it was really awesome to witness the ancient design and architecture of the Tibetan culture.

2.jpg

Isn't it just beautiful? I think you can tell too, by the following picture that the calm and quiet in the institute was really something else. I am already missing it, to be honest!

3.jpg

I don't quite know what this particular art symbolizes but it is definitely influenced by Buddhism. I have seen this kind of art before too in places that had a significant presence of Buddhism.

4.jpg

Kind of majestic, really, but I think you would appreciate it more if you were actually there. The painting of Buddha on the wall is enough for you to feel a sense of calmness. Also, you can notice the beautiful color combination of not just the paintings but the entire place, including the walls and the pillars.

5.jpg

A rug which adorned the many different Buddhist elements with a red glow over it that made it ten times more beautiful! Also notice the blue in the background. Certainly a sight to behold. Certainly!

6.jpg

This is what amazed me the most. No corner of the institute was left untouched. As you can see, a simple corner with a short ladder has been treated with art. This really tells you the attention to details that has been given and is also one of the main reasons why it is so mesmerizing.

7.jpg

Such a simple structure made out of stone plates and yet the presence of it in the area was remarkable. I am not even kidding about it. This is what this culture is all about. Beauty in simplicity.

8.jpg

Some engravings of Buddhist text that I didn't understand but it sure looked real nice. I think you've seen these type of writings in movies too.

9.jpg


10.jpg

As the day was coming to an end, I started to walk back to my hotel but I just didn't want to go. I took a long path to go outside the institute and on the way, I kept seeing more of those Buddhist texts. This was one such place, painted over huge stones.

11.jpg

This is another piece of art that caught my eyes. Such simplicity. I am sure some of my next paintings will definitely be inspired by the Tibetan art form. Can't wait to start painting again!

12.jpg

The prayer wheels, like the prayer flags are another very important element in Buddhism. People spin these wheels on which, generally, the mantra "Om Mani Padme Hum" is engraved.

13.jpg

So, as we come to the end of this post, I can't help but feel the same emotions as I was leaving the institute. I wanted to go back for more, and even now as I am typing these words, I can't wait to go back. If you ever visit Dharamshala, I suggest you definitely check out this place. It is just something else.



Follow me @travel-cuisine


Sort:  

Great post dear thanks for share us

Thanks for reading :)

Thats really true buddhism has a great influence on tibetan culture.
Thanks for sharing these posts.
Im hoping there'll be a part 3. @travel-cuisine

Thanks for reading. I had only enough photos for 2 parts.

I can really imagine that majestic vibe! I just published my post about visiting the cave temples in Sri Lanka and was missing words to discribe this feeling you get in these ancient buddhist temples. I also felt that you instantly feel awe and admiration in those places!

I can totally relate to that. Awe and admiration are two words I would use too :)

wonderful shot such a great history

Thank you so much :)

Great place. Superb pictures.

Thanks for sharing an interesting day! I'm always inspired by Buddhist art too, especially since I mainly paint Mandalas! lol I followed you, looking forward to seeing the art you create inspired by this!

Thanks for reading. I love mandala art too and will try to make some in the future. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.36
ETH 3076.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81