Introductory videos for Transmissions.Center...follow the journey.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

image
image

All stories have a beginning, middle and end. As my blogging on this platform begins in the middle, here are a few videos to help those who are interested in what Transmissions.Center is all about, catch up to somewhere in the middle by taking a look at the beginning…I only assume this isn't actually the end! Not wishing to tempt fate, but when you live life on the road, an unexpected end is only ever just around the corner.

Well that was far too dramatic, so let's lighten things up with this:

As is the case with many a great movie (you will soon discover I have somewhat of an obsession with the medium), the timeline of my profile is going to jump around all over the place. It will all make sense, as they say, in the end. So with a pinch of Pulp Fiction, and a dash Inception (I'll be going to deeper levels at some point), this next video gives a bit more information on the origin of Transmissions.Center:

Touring by motorbike is fairly impossible without an actual motorbike. I spent over a decade dreaming of the adventure before I owned one or had a licence to ride…it didn't get me very far! This is my own ‘Mighty One’ (if you haven't seen the film Diarios de Motocicleta, please do):

Throughout my life there have been various inspirations which have guided me to this very point in time and space…even the place where I am sat, looking out the window at the Pyrenees in BaseCampEu. Tomorrow I leave this idyllic location for all things creative and contemplative (with daily dieting & training taking place too) and ride back on a 956mile mini-tour…a tour I hope you will join me on, vicariously, as I upload photos and thoughts along the way each day…if I have data reception that is.

Having mentioned Che, and his early adulthood adventure, here is a list of other inspirations:

•The Straight Story - if you haven't seen this film, check it out
•500 Mile Walkies - an audio book I used to listen to as a kid about a guy taking a dog for a walk...over 500 miles of walkies
•Highlander (movie) - just one line "Lots of different places" in response to being asked where he is from
•The Count of Monte Cristo - the first novel I ever read, and what an impression it made...what a life he led
•Sir Ranaulph Feinnes - a true adventurer I had the pleasure to attend a speaking from
•Buddha, Jesus, Lao Tze - all great philosophers who wandered around a bit
•The Motorcycle Diaries (movie) - Che and his journey, by bike and philosophy
•Into The Wild (movie) - I was actually jealous of Christopher McCandless
•My brother - who boldly and bravely saw a lot of the world in his Gap Year
•Jack Reacher (movie) - just one word..."Usually." In response to being asked if he was from out of town
•Max Headroom - oh boy did I want to be a video journalist because of that show
•The Long Way Round - What Ewan McGregor and Charley Boorman (let's not forget the cameraman) achieved in that show was incredible...even with a support crew it was an extremely demanding adventure...mine is going to be a lot more cruisy and comfy in comparison
•A mad Argentinian (not Che for a change) - randomly, during the filming for Transmission 6-10, I stumbled upon a guy who had ridden his customised bike (called Excalibur) all the way from his home country to Caerleon (the place in Wales where Camelot was mythically located)...I did a Vox-Pop with him as he was visibly moved by a parade of Falun Gong practitioners I was filming that passed him by as he was collecting funds to continue his journey

And so, tomorrow, I hit the road…

…•…
I've been listening to the following soundtracks whilst writing this (told you I was obsessed):
•Gladiator
•The Last Samurai

Sort:  

Nice to meet you

Nice to meet you, @transmissions! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you have a great time using this platform. Be sure to check out Steemit.chat-it's the official chat for Steemit and you can create a new free account to use it.

Congratulations @transmissions! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44