The Journey Begins in Nicaragua

in #travel6 years ago

I arrived in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua this morning and am staying at my friends hostel, Casa De Oro.

I have been planning on moving to Nicaragua for a few months now, and not soon after I committed to the idea the country erupted in civil unrest, coming close to civil war. Semantics being that fine line.

I planned on creating this steemit account to document my work on my friends permaculture farm, the art I created in solitude, and the work on my own land here.

Ultimately that goal has not changed but I will be adding a focus to the going ons in Nicaragua.

I am proud to be affiliated with Casa Oro as it seems to be a beacon of light amongst the turmoil. San Juan is a peaceful bubble compared to the rest of the country. It is a place for tourists and Nicaragua's own rich and famous. While the violence has not reached here the affects of it have.

Tourism has crawled to a halt, many business have closed and even more locals have lost their job. Food and fuel deliveries have slowed and many are forced to buy black market fuel for a huge mark up.

Amongst all of this my friend has refused to close his doors or fire a single member of his staff. He is taking all measures to ensure everyone has an opportunity to work. Obviously there have been cut backs on hours but all his staff seem incredibly grateful. He has created a family atmosphere among his team and I was taken aback by the welcome I received when they found out I had come to volunteer my time on his projects.

My steemit will be filled with a variety of my own interests, art I both love and art I created, updates on my work here, and updates on the ever changing situation in Nicaragua. Not many of my friends had even heard of the going ons here so I hope this helps spread the word.

Oro Wall Juan Carlos.jpg

Sort:  

@trails-of-clews, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60842.02
ETH 2699.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44