THE HAWAIIAN MISSILE CRISIS

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

      THE HAWAIIAN MISSILE CRISIS

                                                          

                          My “Near-death” experience

It was a normal Saturday morning For me. Being in the army, I occasionally pull 24 hour guard shifts. I had just Gotten off my shift On this breezy Hawaiian morning.I was tired and groggy. 

I finally made it back to my room. Completely exhausted, I lied down on my bed. Instinctively, I plugged my phone in the charging port by my bed. I Rested my head in the pillow and closed my eyes.  

I suddenly hear 3 quick vibrations from my iPhone. I rarely get alerts so this was alarming. I looked at my phone wide-eyed.The text read: “BALLISTIC MISSILE THREAT IMBOUND TO HAWAII. TAKE SHELTER IMMEDIATELY. THIS IS NOT A DRILL.”

The moment I read this I immediately ran out The front door, looked off the balcony, and scanned the sky for a gaint Missile or some sign of a threat. 

I saw nothing...

Long story short, I ended up waiting impending doom for 38 minutes Before a follow-on alert was put out that read:

 “ There is no missile threat or danger to the state of Hawaii. Repeat. False Alarm.”

Apparently, a civilian working with civil defense accidentally pressed The wrong button. This Sent alerts to millions of people across the state of Hawaii.


What a relief! I was preparing myself mentally for war! 

This goes to show the rising threat of North Korea. We never know what’s going to happen next. There could be a War in our near future... 

Stay Viligant.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41