Grace Dieu Priory - Exploring 800 year old ruins

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Home to a mythical ghost .......... The White Lady!

IMG_0117.JPG

One of my favourite places to explore with our dog is Grace Dieu Priory - the Priory was founded in around 1235 and remained active for around 300 hundred years before being abandoned in around 1538.

Today you can walk around the ruins and I think you can still feel the energy from the original Priory! The best bit for me is that is it open to the public but rarely do you see anyone else, so you have the whole place to yourself.

There are tells of a haunting from a lady in white and ghost hunting groups often visit in the hours of darkness - my visits are exclusively daytime and with my dog for protection against any paranormal happening! There have been many heavily documented sightings and most say they've seen white or grey apparitions with no hands or feet, hovering just above the ground - this has been seen both in the daytime and night eeeeeek!

IMG_0126.jpg

IMG_0127.jpg

We took some friends from Canada there for a picnic to watch the sunset and they ranked it as one of the best things they did the whole time they were in Europe. We stayed at the site for a good few hours enjoying the surrounding, but just as the sun was starting to set a storm rolled in with some loud claps of thunder and lighting - we ran back to the car quickly as the rain started to pour!

IMG_0110.jpg

IMG_0130.jpg

If you ever find yourself in the area, you can find the ruins in the village of Thringstone, Leicestershire and I would heartily recommend it.

IMG_0132.jpg

I also used the ruins to film my picnic series, so check those out on Steemit!

Big hugs for now

Sacha x

Sort:  

The place is like the ancient kingdoms, like those in hollywood movies. Places like this I like the most
What is this place actually in antiquity ...?

We're on the same page there then, old historical places like this hold so much charm. I am unsure on your question, but will see what I can find out :-)

Nothing beats ancient times ! The skies look so evil as if they are attracting the past. Great post 👍🏽

The sky was moody as the storm rolled in! Thank you for stopping by :-)

Ohh like amazing reaaly I vote you

Thank you, very kind!

Nice pictures, following you now :)

Thank you so much! I am off to check your page out now :-)

wow I love these pictures :)) stunning!!

It's an amazing place, if you come and visit us sometime we'll take you there :-) xx

That first pic caught my eye - those clouds... such wonderful drama clouds! Lol... But you've lovely photos all the way down too! Lovely day out piece... I enjoyed it! :)

Thank you! It's such a great place to visit :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57178.77
ETH 3095.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12