Help! I have been duped and burned

in #travel6 years ago

IMG_20180502_172225.jpg]()

Below is my cousins' story in his own words..................
Education, they say is power. So in other to be enlightened you need to learn.
My experience stems from my desire to acquire knowledge. .
The university I secured an admission with is very far from where I reside. It's actually in another state. So I have to look for an accommodation.

Being a students area, there was an influx of people both workers, students, residents and hustlers. Things were very costly and you have to leverage low else, cult Boys will have your head.
I tried finding a house by myself as doing so, will reduce the cost. But alas I never knew that having no witness or agent makes you a son of nobody in the eyes of the landlord and as such, he can treat you anyhow he pleases (despite the fact that you paid him).

OK guys, I found a house and paid for it. It was a bit far from school so I usually board bike or taxi. I bought house equipments, Painted and furnished the house to a little bit of my taste.
I really enjoyed the whole activities of hopping in and out of my new house. Everyone seemed so busy to even stop by and greet.
Then after 5days of settling in, I remember my landlord paid me a visit and expressed his shock at how I have transformed his house to a little paradise. I never knew that I have gotten my self into trouble for allowing him see the house.

The above picture is a replica of the house equipments I had bought. As my uncle is an importer, we don't have problems in getting beautiful home equipments. Hence, my landlord became envious and began planning to covet the house. He doesn't stay with us in the same house but he came up with some new rules that prohibits returning home around after 7 o'clock on. Now there are seven of us living in the compound. Five ladies and two guys. Some of the ladies do sleep over at their boyfriends house.
Being a guy, he thought I would fall prey to his rules so that he will forcefully evict me according to his penalty. But alas, God was with me. After facing the workload and stress from school, I also endured this man. At a time, I reported him to the Village chief but they advised me to go and make peace with him.

:woman:

I then heard that he loves and listens to his wife much so I decided to table my complaint before her. But I was shocked to hear what Joseph of the Bible heard from potiphers wife. She was interested in me. Well I am already on the wanted list of her husband how beit when am caught sizzling an affair with her. She warned me of more wars if I don't hide under her influence. I refused it all.

Then as fate would have it, I had a domestic problem that required me to withdraw from school and return home. I had stayed only 5months and I payed for a year. I didn't tell the landlord of my travel because I had thought I would soon come back.
Circumstances then had it that I couldnt return till my rent expired. I only returned three months after my rent had expired.
Mean while I had initially sent my cousin to go and pack my things but she was refused entry to my room even though she was with my keys.
The landlord insisted that I must pay the extra three months. I asked him why he refused picking my calls the day I sent my cousin to vacate my things. I asked him of the text that I sent afterwards in order to identify my cousin but he denied it all.

As I speak now, my properties are still in his house because he locked my room with a new set of keys. I don't have much to even continue the schooling talk more of hiring a lawyer for him etc..........
If I should break into the house, he might tag me a thief and the villagers are good at jungle justice.
I have summoned the courage and strength to sweep the memories off my life. They must have possessed or sold out my belongings by now because it's been 5 years. They shall still lack one or two things in their lives. They can't be forever satisfied.

I have come to conclude that it's better to survey an area first before making a long term plan towards it. I had planned to retain the house and start working after I graduate.IMG_20180502_172225.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62404.06
ETH 2426.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65