Dive Trip to the Beautiful Philippines

in #travel7 years ago

phil2.jpg

Well what can I say about this place, or rather should I say places! The Philippines is made up of around 7000 Islands after all. Nestled in the far reaches of the Pacific Ocean I took the approximately 3 hour flight from Bangkok to meet my old school friend who now lives in Manila with his Filipino girlfriend. Manila was busy as expected, but we had planned I would arrive late Saturday night to avoid the heavy traffic during the day which worked out perfectly.

Just one night was spent in the City before making our way early in the morning to our destination Mindoro Island which is the 7th largest Island in the Philippines. We drove roughly 2 hours to the port situated at Batangas, on the way we were driving through lush greenery with a backdrop of rolling mountains as my friend and I relived memories from our youth and joked with the driver. He was very friendly and this was to be a common theme that I found in Filipino people in general, always smiling and always happy, at least on the surface anyway!

Arriving a Batangas ferry port is a little chaotic, there are many hawkers trying to get you to buy a ticket to the Island with them, and then expecting tips. Its not a huge problem for me personally because I understand everyone needs to do what they need to do in order to survive, and some are more blessed financially than others. But its more for anyone who goes that there are no uncomfortable surprises! The boat was quite packed with both locals and tourists, Mindoro is a popular getaway with Filipinos because of its closeness to Manila. The trip over to the Island was stunning, you could see Islands both near and afar, it made me realise how perfect Nature is, and how beautiful this particular region of the World is too.

So on arrival at Puerto Galera we caught a taxi to Sabang which was to be where we would be based for our diving adventures. The first day however was spent exploring the Island, we hired mopeds and honestly some of the scenery was breathtaking, this place had everything mountains beaches, waterfalls cascading down in random places, and when we stopped for a break some of the most sweetest coconuts I have ever had the privilege to taste!

phil11.jpg

phil12.jpg

Where we were staying in Sabang was cove like, and alot of the accommodation (including ours) creeps up the side of the surrounding steep slopes so just be prepared for a bit of hill walking if you stay there! But the panoramic views from the balcony were worth every single step!

The following day was time for what we had REALLY come for and that was the diving! We made our way to Capt'n Greggs Divers Lodge where we met Dave our dive master. I was feeling a bit nervous as I had only just completed my open water Padi 6 months previously and had not dived since. But Dave put my mind at rest as we made our way out to a more shallow dive and a shipwreck. Well I can honestly say my mind was blown as soon as I got in the water! The first thing to strike me was the clear visibility! I had learnt to dive in Koh Tao in Thailand, and to be honest it was quite murky and I really was a bit disappointed. But this was something else! I felt like I was going into another World!

phil5.jpg

phil9.jpg

So the dives continued over the days as we went to different reefs at different depths around the Island. As my technique improved I was enjoying them even more. On one particular day I looked up towards the top of the ocean from the bottom and I saw what I believed to be a shark, it was huge! I laid low and decided not to move for obvious reasons, but it just swam past like it hadn't even noticed me. I found out afterwards it was actually a Barracuda, I had no idea they could be so big!

One thing I was desperate to see were the giant sea turtles, I said to Dave that if he could find one I would be eternally grateful! Well it wasnt to be until the final day when I we finally saw one, not only saw but she let me swim so intimately close to her it I was astounded! These majestic creatures glide through the water effortlessly and it was a privilege to share the same space with her. The first photo is at the top is one I will cherish forever!

The last dive was wonderful, again just an amazing array of aquatic life. Giant clams, sea cucumbers, lion fish, squid, the list goes on. Tiny shrimp, and clown fish were abundant. I got out of the water knowing I had been somewhere very special.

phil7.jpg

phil1.jpg

The final day before leaving my friend had mentioned about going on the 'Hash Run' now I hadn't heard of this before but it sounded like great fun! Hash House Harriers I later found out is a Worldwide drinking club that like to go on long walks/runs. Its pretty simple you meet in the pub, do the run/walk (your choice) and then meet in the pub again! The great aspect to it is firstly you get to meet new people, secondly you get to see parts of the place you're visiting you would never normally see, and thirdly its a great way to incorporate exercise into your life in a fun way.

So the course is all marked out as you go along, and as I say you have the choice whether or not you walk or run it. I was feeling very fit at the time, and I fancied my chances to complete the course by running it. Well how wrong was I?! We all made our way in these huge cars that act as taxis that they have in the Philippines, I think they have been imported from the US years ago or something. As we started the course I was running along doing quite well, I was in the lead group (you dont have to race) and all was looking good, that was until we hit the first slopes! Well that was me done, no more running! Obviously not as fit as I thought I was. But still the scenery up there was truly wonderful, lush green trees everywhere, views over out to sea as we passed through tiny villages where the locals live in shacks.The kids would run out to greet us like they had never seen a foreigner before! A great time was had and then you have the ceremony afterwards where you all stand in a circle, nicknames are allocated (cant say what mine was on here)! Beer is drunk and thrown over peoples heads, just a real good laugh and a fantastic way tor round the week up after heading back to Manila the next day.

phil3.jpg

Sort:  

Nice! Got my padi on the Philippines (Malapascau) in 2015 en got adicted to diving. By the time I left got my advanced and nitrox too and saw my first wrecks at Coron.

Been diving since to several different places in the world but I will never forget the Philippines. I was a great holiday where I met a lot of wonderful people and the first time to breath under water is something you never forget.

Its definitely a special place, where is the best diving in your opinion?

Hard to say because each place is special. Been diving in Philippines, Belgium, Netherlands, Italy, Cuba, Maldives, Egypt and Indonesia but can't pinpoint a favorite spot.

Here in Belgium my favorite spots are old flooded stone quary's. It's special because they are deep, dark, cold and that gives a bit of a kick.

And maybe Maldives is my favorite tropical destination. De corals in the red sea are far more beautiful but the big live on the Maldives makes it special. Hundreds of sharks, huge manta-rays, eagle rays, big turtles, ....

And my favorite wreck dives are definitely @ Coron - Philippines. Did 5 WW II wrecks over there. I have seen wrecks elsewhere but they aren't as big and part of history as those WW II wrecks.

Thanks Julie I cant claim to have taken them though, apart from the last one!

Philippines is a great place for diving!)

Yes so blessed to have had the chance to go, will definitely be looking to go back soon!

Awesome photos!

I'm so glad to have cool friends such as you! Love you from across the pond!! xoxo

Haha I think Im two ponds over as Im in Asia!

Would love to do diving there. Too bad the weather when i got there was gloomy. Should try coming over april or dec.smh

Yes I dont know how it compares to other Islands but its well worth it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57