MY TRAVEL TO ISRAEL AND MY SPACE LAW VOYAGE

in #travel7 years ago

So I was going through my pictures on my system and I stumbled on pictures of my travel to Israel particularly to Jerusalem and I could not but feel so nostalgic about the whole event again. I spent almost thirty minutes going through the pictures and laughing so hard that I decided to share this awesome voyage I made at exactly this time two years ago.

Okay, you really might not have guessed but I am a geek or should I say nerd, well whichever one you choose, but basically I was and am that extremely serious, sit in the front, thick glasses, straight face kinda girl but you might never guess if you meet me without my glasses.

IMG_20151015_204730.jpg

So as a result I found myself going for competitions to represent my university both nationally and internationally. Well that was how I landed in Israel.

My teammates (two sweet guys) and I represented the University, one of the earliest universities in Nigeria, in Space law.

20151015_190344.jpg

Actually, we won the African round of the competition and proceeded to the world finals in Jerusalem. Trust me; I wouldn’t bore you with the rhetoric of Space law, maybe someday I might speak about it. But, really it’s a very interesting area of law that sounds abstract and technical except you have practical scenarios like we did.
IMG_20151015_203852.jpg
Yeah and that's me with the Vice President of the International Court of Justice...I actually felt so happy

Basically we were to defend and make arguments for two different countries, one that took responsibility of stopping a space object and still the object crashed into the earth and destroyed parts of another country, and arguments for the country that was destroyed on why they should be compensated.

Okay, I promised so let me just talk about Israel. So we touched down at the airport in Tel-Aviv and then drove some two hours or an hour(can’t remember now) to Jerusalem.

IMG_20151011_132635.jpg
IMG_20151012_062754.jpg

The first thing I noticed were the houses, they all pretty much looked the same and had the same colour and the country is a hilly one.

IMG_20151012_075350.jpg

Contrary to what I thought, it was really hot when we got there, the weather just wasn’t so strange and all, it was pretty normal. Yes, another thing I noticed was the dressing of some people ( I am not sure again who I was told they were), it sort of looked strange and captivating. They had really long hairs and they wore very tiny caps on the centre of their heads and then some other set of people wore big hats and long jackets. Well I could only stare and stare.

IMG_20151012_075438.jpg
IMG_20151014_141311.jpg
IMG_20151012_083847.jpg

The high point of the journey for me was visiting old Jerusalem, the one that started from Jaffa gate. .

IMG_20151014_105655.jpg

I remember we had a really interesting tour guide, he said he had been a tour guide for years and he had a perfect explanation for every question. Trust me, I cannot remember the names of everywhere I can only show pictures really and that’s what I will do… I just remember we saw Western Wailing Wall, the living quarters of the Jews, Muslims, Christians and the Armenian (well, the tour guide kinda called it the home town of Kim Kardashian).

IMG_20151014_120050.jpg
IMG_20151014_135343.jpg
IMG_20151014_140732.jpg
20151014_124317.jpg
IMG_20151014_112144.jpg

We also saw one of those biblical mountains and a generational grave yard.. Yes and where they claimed the last supper was eaten.

IMG_20151014_115134.jpg
IMG_20151014_112709.jpg

Anyways, it was a really beautiful experience, except for the fact that we didn’t have enough money and we were almost always hungry and when eventually we got to eat what we thought was a proper meal, there was sugar in the rice but then I couldn’t throw it away because it was too damn expensive.

IMG_20151016_210816.jpg

Maybe sometime soon, I will talk about some other travel experiences or competition experience...till then... Dont forget to comment, upvote and resteem...much much love

Sort:  

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Isreal definitely on my Bucket List....

you really might not have guessed but I am a geek or should I say nerd, well whichever one you choose,

I choose "geener"
You know, I never got to see these pictures really

Nice to see these beautiful pics. Thanks for sharing

You know wha @tolarnee.... at some point in you story I thought I was in there with you guys though I have never crossed the boarders of Nigeria beyond Idiroko(Nigerians should know what I mean lolz)

Thank you for sharing and I can't wait to read of your other voyages from a Nigerian. Enough of the oyinbo travellers upandown

Lol...i cant stop laughing
Such a funny and abstract naration for a spectacular occurrence in your life...the food part cracked me up big time......i upvoted oo☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50